Tuesday, Aug. 22, 2006 11:05 am

Office dramas

Some drama at the station yesterday. I had had a little (very little) tiff with a saleswoman on Friday. She lives with a band's road manager (roommates, not lovers) and considers herself part of that band, I believe. She called to be critical about an announcement that I made on behalf of the band. I told the truth, the facts, but they didn't want those facts out she said and that was not what was in the press release (which I hadn't seen). I didn't like her superior attitude that day and it bugged me through the weekend. Well, she quit today. I love her and she has always been one of my favorite salespeople because she can make things happen, but she has taken another job down the street with a TV station. Makes for interesting changes. I know so many of the salespeople are unhappy with our new corporate attitudes, I think there will be more defections.

And my poor friend with the musician husband. She was mad at him from stuff through the weekend where he was a jerk. Then he sent her flowers at work. He's never ever sent her flowers, ever. And he sends the ugliest, cheapest bunch of flowers you've ever seen in a vase with a stupid stuffed bear. Hideous. And, worst of all, the card said, "Not that I'm wrong, but I love you." Bad bad move. I am eager to hear today how that turned out last night.

My favorite intern was back in town yesterday. He stayed in the studio most of the afternoon and then we went out. I didn't do my Virginia station because my voice has been incredibly bad lately. I will have to do it today. To kill time before going to the east side, he and I had a beer at a dive bar across the street that I've wondered about for years. They were smoking in there! I guess these little holes in the walls can still let smokers smoke without worrying too much about the ordinance police showing up. We went from there to a new Mexican place (well, new to me) and had some appetizers. Then we went to the east side. It wasn't too crowded for a while, but it did eventually get crowded. Mark's favorite bartender girl was there. She's so cute. Pksax was there, too. My friend Frenchy came for a while, plus all the regular girls. It was pretty fun. We left after the break.

Today we are talking about my upcoming vacation and trying to get a bead on what we might be able to do together. Mark says he would like to get away with me for a few days, so we'll see if we can make that happen. If he can't, I'm considering going to Ohio or Amarillo. We'll see what shapes up. I just realized I might be out of town during the big Ohio State game. I guess I could live with that. It will be a good game, though.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland