Monday, Aug. 21, 2006 9:28 am

Weekend was relaxing

I am up early enough to listen to the station. Why anyone does this I want to know. Boring boring boring. I need to shut it off because I sure can't think or write while it is on.

My weekend was good. I really enjoyed being home alone for so much of it. I think if Mark decided to go on tour, I could handle it. There is a lot to be said for alone time. Anti-social. That's me.

I did go out on Saturday night. Frustrated because I had to wait again. Why am I always on time or early and I'm the one that has to wait? I got downtown early and found a parking spot close to the church right away. I walked down to Congress and the restaurant where we were meeting. I was early, so I went ahead and ordered a glass of wine. Then I discovered she had left me a message saying she was running late. I think she ended up being a full 30 minutes late. I don't think we'll be doing much together in the future anyway. She's in interesting girl, but she's a little odd. I've written about her in the past. She's the one that, within 60 seconds of meeting her, let's you know that she lived in Nashville. It is her touchstone that means something to her, I guess. She is friends with one of the songwriters that was on my show and was on this lineup we saw at the church.

That same songwriter, Georgia's, father was at the show. He was weird one. He looked like an old Sgt. Carter and he sort of "directed" the songs with his fingers as they played. The conversation with him before the show made me think he was retarded or something. I don't really think he is, but he was weird. Then, when one of the performers was saying nice things about the Dixie Chicks, he was muttering under his breath (but loud enough that I was hearing him two seats away), "She just lost $15." I guess he would have bought her CD if she hadn't supported them. Anyway, when the show was over, I skipped on out and let those two oddities carry on their conversation.

Yesterday, Sunday, I never left the house. I didn't walk out the front door once. Saturday I did work in the yard and water, but since I'd done that I just stayed inside all Sunday. I finished my reunion letter and got it emailed out. I cleaned out kitchen cabinets and threw out the last of the thawed Mexican food from my cousin.

Oh, and Saturday I had a great conversation with my nephew at college. It was fun for him to call and tell me about his weekend and what he doing. My sister is still heartbroken, but she's getting better.

Today it is back to work. Whoo-hoo.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland