Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006 11:56 am

Cranky, bitchy, crabby

My day yesterday continued to be a downer. I hate days like that. Nothing major. I didn't get "in trouble" or anything. I didn't even see the boss at all. But a remote I had scheduled for this Saturday fell through so I am going to have to work an airshift, which I really don't like to do on the weekends (confession: I feel like I'm working for free when I do that). They scheduled me for a remote on Sunday which meant NO day off on the weekend, which I am too old to handle anymore. Then I let people know that next weekend is my family reunion and I need it to stay clear and found out they'd moved a remote from the following week up to my reunion weekend. Everyone was nice, everyone was trying to help me out, so I knew I was just crabby when I felt put out and put upon.

Then I had the weirdest phone calls all through the afternoon... Strange. You'd think the moon was full or something. One lady called and requested some Bonnie music. I love Bonnie, but we don't play her song in full rotation so I gave the standard "I'll see what I can do" response. Later, I played "Blue." A lady (same lady) calls and says "Who was singing that song a few minutes ago, I think it was called 'Blue'?" I said, "LeeAnn Rimes." She sounds like she is making note of this information. I asked if she was new to country music (since that song was a huge hit ten years ago and is still played consistently, at least on our station). No, she says she is familiar with country music, then she starts on about how she is working for a ratings company, rating stations on how much they play requested music and she had requested Bonnie. I scoffed and said, "And do any ever? Radio stations don't play requests." She seemed surprised and assured me that, yes, stations do play requests. (ha) She said she was also noting how frequently we played male artists versus female artists. I said that was obviously more male artists. She said, "Yes, and they all sound exactly the same." Click. Next call. Strange.

Then a guy called to see if Jerry Jeff has given up his citizenship and moved to Belize. I told him I hadn't heard anything of the sort, but that Jerry Jeff lives part of the year in Belize every year. He continued that he had heard that JJ gave up his citizenship in protest of the war in Iraq. I said, well, if he wanted to make a protest, I think he would have called attention to the fact that he was doing it and let the press know. He CONTINUED and said that JJ was against war. I countered with, Well, is anyone FOR war? He said, Yeah, but JJ was a draft doger during Viet Nam. ... Yes, he was. And your point? Why do people call and ask me to prove a negative? Yes, I could call Jerry Jeff and ask him and you probably don't have the resources to do that, but how does that serve the greater good? Oh, and the guy continued on about the new Viva Terlingua album that was made that I was a part of. He said, "They" remade an old Jerry Jeff album without him. I said, yes, they did it again with his songs and with young Texas artists as a tribute. ... But they didn't even invite him! Well, I do believe an effort was made to invite him, but, JJ is not the easiest person in the world to work with and I can surmise that if he weren't being paid, he wouldn't be there. Can't say that I blame him either. So on and on this guy goes. Tiresome.

There were more, but that was the gist of the day. And my toes hurt and I felt crappy.

Today I have Cory on the show. He is never much of an interview, I'll see if I can find some new questions to ask him.

I did make rice salad last night and I'm glad I finally did that. It is so good. My sister's was better than mine was. I had some bitter green in mine that didn't taste good and her dressing was better. I have some left over that I will have for lunch.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland