Tuesday, Aug. 01, 2006 1:07 pm

The Wheel

Obviously, by the clock, I see that I'm late for work. Especially since I haven't even begun to shower, eat, get ready. But I have done two logs at home, so I am working. It is easier to concentrate on them here sometimes.

Had a fabulous time at Asleep at the Wheel last night. I can't believe I know those people. The show, with the fab Elizabeth McQueen now in the band, took me back to memories of their first albums that I had with Chris O'Connell. Great songs, great band, then and now. I went over to the east side after, but I was tired and my toes hurt, so I only stayed through the break and the visit and then I came on home. I should have gone on to bed, but still ended up staying up too late. I am just worn out through the workday and I'm trying not to rely on caffeine at all. I did have a Diet Coke yesterday. It didn't seem to help at all.

Today is the 40th anniversary of the tower shootings. Big news here in Austin, then and now. I remember bits and pieces of it all. My sister says she remembers being terrified of leaving the dinner table and going into the dark living room and fearing that the shooter would be at the top of the stairs waiting to shoot her. Our living room could be frightening. Up until I was in high school, we had a set of stairs that led to no where. They went to the attic (which was convenient!) but there was a big board over the attic opening. Finally in the seventies, Daddy and I built it all in up there and made me a bedroom and more "upstairs." It wasn't a really good upstairs, you had to duck under roof lines to get to the areas where you could stand up, but I loved having my own little world up there. That was nice.

So, I go from unpleasant thoughts of the tower shooting to the serenity I had being alone in my upstairs bedroom.

I had lunch yesterday with my accordion teacher and friend. I go to lunch with her and wonder why I do it. She and I just don't really connect, it seems to me, and I am bored. I am bored by so many people, which is probably indication that I am boring to them. I don't know.

I also went to two eye doctors yesterday. I saw my old reliable eye doctor to see what she thought of my lasik surgery. She gave me lots of reassurance that everything was going all right and that my eyes are incredibly dry and I need to keep them moisturized. She said it could be nine months before I see really well so not to worry about it now at only the five month mark. Good to get that second opinion, and good that she didn't say "They ruined your eyes!" when I'm going to have to be talking about these people for the next two years!

Typing here is not getting me to work any faster. I'd better go see about pulling on some clothes. Maybe I can get by without a shower. Nah, I'd be miserable...

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland