Tuesday, Aug. 02, 2005 11:40 pm

Ratings Spring 2005

We got ratings yesterday and they were very very good. My best book ever (at least of the last 20 years). We were number one and even in our preferred demo (people between 25 and 54) we were very close to the top. I was number 3 in my time slot. I should get a bonus for it. Cotton told me today to not count my chickens before they hatch because the current boss is not honoring old boss agreements. I will raise holy hell if he doesn't honor this agreement... It wasn't a personal agreement, my old boss was acting as the representative of the station when he made this deal. I am not going to get bent until I know where he stands, but if he has a problem I know lawyers I can call in to make this thing happen.

Anyway... Had dinner and drinks tonight with an old radio friend that was here in Austin in the glory days. He and another of our team and I went to Trudy's. It was fun to talk about old times and hash over radio and such. I heard lots of praise for my numbers, too, which was very nice. He is a great guy... One of those that I wish was still here in town.

Had a weird conversation with my good friend Perfect C. Yesterday was her birthday. We hadn't talked in a long long time so I sent a happy birthday email. She called last night. In reference to my question "what are you doing these days?" she explains that she is spending 10 to 12 hours a day now studying the Bible and following some cult leader (okay, those are my words there) in Idaho in preparing for the end of the world. She says she never read the Bible growing up and had no idea what it said in it. Now that she is studying it with his study guides, she sees that the end is near and the "wars and rumors of wars" has come to pass and our days are numbered. I threw out the "theif in the night" fact that we cannot know the time of the ending of the world and she was mighty impressed with my Bible knowledge. She sounds like she has really gone off into lala land on this one. She has really isolated herself and is completely absorbed in this and continuing to live off of her savings. I wonder how long she can do that and how long she will be in this phase. It is bizarre for her.

I continue to wrassle with the computer. Tonight it is performing fine. It has good days and bad days. Fortunately, it operates in safe mode and I can use that for many things when it doesn't want to come on in any other way. I'm about to become a Mac person, I think.

If and when I do get this bonus for my work, I'm going to buy iPods for me and Mark. We both want them and if we had the money fall out of the sky I think we need to go for it.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland