Friday, Aug. 05, 2005 12:45 am

Sad news

I went through all sorts of scenarios in my head where I would have to sue the station and get my boss fired in order to get the bonus due me. I dug through my files until I found the email that originally outlined my arrangement. Yesterday I had a minute to talk to the boss. He congratulated me on the good numbers and I asked about the bonus. Yes, he said, I've got it right here (referring to a spreadsheet) and he quoted a figure that was only HALF of what I expected. He didn't bat an eye, though, when I said that wasn't right. He just told me to talk to the finance guy. I emailed him and he emailed right back that, yes, he had the original email and all was well. Hooray! I hope I get it soon. I remember the last bonus I got (which was MANY years ago) took months of reminding. By the time I got it, it had lost its thrill.

I worked extra long today to get a lot of things done. I could have used a few more hours to really get things organized, but I am at least a little bit ahead. Tomorrow will be a light day and then I'll be working Saturday and Sunday.

Rough news this morning has had me sad all day. My dearest cousin with cancer has been passing out and having a lot of numbness. Yesterday she wasn't able to form words. With that, they finally called the doctor and he rushed her in for an MRI. The good news (I suppose) is that it isn't a brain tumor. The bad news is they think she has had a stroke or more than one stroke. There is no high blood pressure or anything that would indicate a stroke, but they don't otherwise know why she would be having these symptoms. I have never read the book "Why Bad Things Happen to Good People" but it may need to be on my list. There is NO better person than she and this is just too sad.

I haven't mentioned my voice much lately. I suppose I should just for my record. I still feel like I am struggling to talk and I censor myself a lot so that I don't have to talk... BUT, I do sound fine on the air. I think I sound nasally or stopped up sometimes and I know the words that begin with vowels come off rather harsh sometimes, but all in all I don't think the average listener would know anything is going on anymore. I guess that is a very good thing. I need to go back to some things recorded in April and May just to remember what I sounded like before. I probably could go a little longer than the three months for another dose of botox, but I'm curious about getting a dose that will make me talk normally for longer, not just sound normal.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland