Wednesday, Aug. 11, 2004 11:40 am

Accordion Debut

I guess there's lots to report and catch up on, primarily that it is official and I have a new boss beginning in September. And, yes, it is the evil boss. Surprisingly, I think I'm feeling less anxiety now that I KNOW it is him. It was the anticipation and not-knowing that was killing me. He was in the office Monday and yesterday and we talked a bit...just casually. My current temporary boss said that he had told new boss and big boss how wonderful I was and how passionate I am about the station and they agreed that I was fabulous. We'll see if that feeling lasts! I need a new name for him instead of evil boss... I don't want to go into this new relationship with a bad attitude from the beginning. I do want to be able to stand up to him, though. I don't want to be a wuss.

The reunion wasn't fun. Sad. Flies everywhere and no one to talk to. None of my close family was there so the closest cousin was a second cousin once removed. He and his wife and I were the only ones from our branch of the twelve branches. I guess I'm glad I went, but I didn't stay to the end. I went on to the cemetery and visited with the dead relatives and that was more relaxing.

Sunday was our big concert at the lake and I made my accordion debut! Quite a big day and night. It was more fun than I expected, really. Mark was out there, too, working, and I enjoyed seeing him throughout the day. I told him next time I have a big event I'll just hire him and pay him to be there because then I don't have to worry about whether he's having fun or not. I broadcast through part of it and then hung out backstage. We broadcast part of Jack's show live and Cotton threw conniption fits because Jack said a few inadvertant cuss words we had to bleep and he finally pulled it off the air before it was over. I wouldn't have worried about it that much at all, but he was going ballistic... so far as to tell me to go tell Jack to stop. silly.

At the big finale, Kevin had all the performers come onstage and sing Family Tradition. And he allowed me on to play my accordion. It was a blast to play in front of 3000 people. Of course, I couldn't hear a note I was playing and neither could anyone else. I had no amplification whatsoever, but I looked damn good, I must say.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland