Saturday, Aug. 07, 2004 10:12 am

Weekend Procrastination

Crap. The dentist did charge me after all, leaving my checking account down to dust and nickels. Eeek. How quickly I assumed it wasn't going to come through. I need to be less flip with my money. Really I do.

I am procrastinating this morning... big time. I need to go make pies and pack to go to my family reunion tonight and tomorrow. I know I will be glad I went, but I'm dragging my feet right now. And I'm going to see Double D while I'm up there so that makes it even more fun, but there is something so appealing about just staying home. I need to get over that and get out more.

I did go see Double D last night and we had a great time. The newly single friend Monica drove and was fun to have along. But boy, she is young. You can almost draw a line in generations along the path of cell phone usage. Those that live with it to their ear all the time are of a different ilk than me. The whole drive out there she was on the phone with two different friends and more calls kept coming in. One friend was in crisis that a date had stood her up and the other was calling with info about Monica's ex and his habits now that they've broken up.

I got a very small tight shirt at DD's show. I am not used to wearing shirts of that type, but the reaction from the men was quite strong. I asked two older men if they would allow their wives out in a shirt that tight and bosomy and their eyes popped out of their heads and they said "hell yes!!" Another man asked me to turn around for a picture and (having heard these discussions) he said "Holy crap would you look at those!" It became quite the joke. I don't know how much wear I'll get out of it, but I'll give it a try.

But these extra 8 pounds I've gained this summer are not helping! I've got to give up the drinking and the cookies and the boloney sandwiches for lunch and find a way to shed these pounds soon. My clothes don't fit and I don't feel good.

Interesting observation.... I was the happy recipient of a bottle of muscle relaxers from my new best friend. I took one Thursday night and slept like a baby. But then on Friday at work, I didn't have these horrible breathing problems or the hand-around-the-throat feeling I've had for so long. It was such a relief to be able to talk and do my show without effort again. It made me realize how long this has been going on. I won't experiment this weekend since I'm driving and working, but through this next week I'm going to see if it helps me relax and do my show and then I may go talk to my own doctor about it. It would be a wonderful thing if I could get past this.

Okay... no more procrastination. It is pie time.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland