Monday, Apr. 09, 2007 11:17 pm

Back into the swing

I feel the slightest bit better tonight because I ferreted out the answers to questions my tax guy had for me and sent him an email. He may have more questions for me tomorrow, but with this success behind me, maybe I'll be able to answer them as well. I hate this putting things off until the very end. But I am glad the taxes are in the hands of a professional that is NOT panicking like I am.

My Mom did get on home Saturday night. I wasn't sure we were going to be able to drive there or not. With it pouring rain and sleet and being on the border of freezing, I didn't want to get out on the roadways in Easter traffic and possible hit frozen roads and danger. But I studied the maps and radar and it looked like only a band of frozen stuff in the middle of our drive. And that is exactly what it was. It was pouring snow from Salado to north of Waco. I took some pictures in the bluebonnets. So weird. This was Austin's first ever snow in April. We only got a few flakes here along with the sleet, but enough for the official record book.

We stopped and had a nice dinner at the Elite Cafe in Waco and then got to her house about eleven. We were pooped. But we got up early on Sunday and I loaded up a few things to take home with me. I brought the big portraits of my great grandparents (on their wedding day?) and my great-grandfather (different guy) as a young man. We have NO wall space in this house for pictures, but I will hang them back here in my office and transform this room into my ancestor worshipping grounds.

My sister seemed a little snippy that I was already taking some things from the house. She said "I thought we would go through things together." That would be nice, but I was there a week at Christmas and she never came to the house to go through things. I asked her then to go through Dad's "toy box" with me and she didn't want to. My mother even commented that my sister hasn't been to the house any since Dad died. She has been with Mother a lot at doctor's appointments, but hasn't been out just to visit and I know that hurts Mom's feelings, while, to my sister's credit, she is working herself to death to get this apartment deal going and take care of Mom's health and the will and the probate and the gravestone, etc. etc. I am glad I am not in her shoes.

My drive home yesterday was a breeze. I was worried about Easter traffic, but it was fine. There were lots of bluebonnets to look at and I had some good CDs to ride with (Mother Truckers for one).

I didn't go out tonight. I went to the grocery store and stocked up (way stocked up!) and came home to be home alone. I wish I were more well rested and feeling better and able to enjoy my time. But I keep feeling the need to do more important things than what I WANT to do. I would like to (sort of) work on the quilt, but the taxes came first. I want to surf the web, but email comes first. I would like a hot bath and bed, but I'm washing the sheets and jeans first. Always something to do.

Tomorrow there is a meeting among our small airstaff and the boss to try to put together a best 500 countdown for the Memorial Day weekend. I would love it if we weren't so pre-recorded. I'm afraid songs will get dropped or we'll get too far ahead. I hate this sort of thing. And I don't know how we can start and end it at good times to make it "work." I really don't know that he thinks of these things at all.

And another worry on my mind is my best friend B!. She's seeing the loser again that has dumped her hard, what, three?, times now. They went out to dinner on her/his birthday (they share it) and she said she is seeing him "once a week" and no more. Right. We'll see how good a relationship that builds. And I expect "seeing" means sleeping with when it comes to her. I just don't feel good about this and haven't discussed it with her. I don't know how I can slap her up side the head and make her respect herself a little bit more. Relationships are HARD, but they really shouldn't get hard in the very first year... they'll get hard enough in years 7 through 11! That first year should be all happy stuff and sunshine and love. If it is hard, something is seriously wrong.

Well I'll go change the sheets and get the bed(s) ready. Mark did nap on the new bed today, he said. My kitties are adorable right now. Nathan Jr. is in the windowsill on vigil for Mark. Willie is on the top shelf of the desk wedged between the monitor and speaker. He can't be comfortable (though he did shove away a candle and picture in a frame to make some room). His head is hanging off the sharp edge of the desk, poor baby.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland