April 26, 2003 8:26 pm

Remotes

The house closing went like a breeze yesterday. It was the best part of my day. The house payment is going to go DOWN and the length of the loan is going to go down by 11 years, too. Pretty incredible what a rate change can do. I signed my name about 75 times and I signed Mark's name with "by..." me another 75 times. Wore me out, but worth it.

I did a remote before the closing at a restaurant in Lakeway. It was, in my opinion, disastrous. Not so much to the listener or the people there, but I could just see so many ways it could have been better, and should have been better.

Went with the journal writers group to the 1920s Club on Congress for a drink after work. I was glad they were still there when I made it at 8 p.m. I had one of their chocolate martinis I'd read about in the paper this week. Strong and good, but I don't think I'll need another one soon. Enjoyed catching up with Michele, who was with us ages ago but hasn't been joining us in a long time. I enjoy her because she is smart and funny and a writer, but she is also intimidating because she is a writer and does write. It was inspiring though.

Today I had to get up at 6 a.m. to be in New Braunfels for an early morning remote. There were more people than I would expect early on a Saturday and it went okay. Then I dashed over to a nursery that is also a home for the mentally retarded and broadcast there and then bought a bunch of plants myself.

Our morning man shadowed me to both remotes. I don't quite know why he did that or why he did it once before. It feels like he is telling the client "I know she isn't the attraction that I am, so I'll show up since you are an important client and she can't do this job well alone." I won't worry about it too much since I'm the one that makes the money on these deals, not him.

Came home and napped and got some energy again and then I mowed the lawns and gardened. I got bit about dozen times by ants, though, and had to take the Benedryl and put on the Benedryl cream so I wouldn't go absolutely nuts. I am very allergic to the ant and it makes me itchy all over.

Tonight I must get to the grocery and get something for Devota's party tomorrow. I'm really looking forward to it.

Nathan was around in the yard today while I worked so I got to give him some love. I wish he would come in the house, but he is still leary of the kitties and will tear down the door to get out. I let him know he is loved and fed him and left him out since he is happier there than inside.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland