April 25, 2003 8:36 am

Anniversary and more

It's Friday. I'm glad. It's going to be a busy 30 hours or so, so I will write while I have the opportunity.

Yesterday was our tenth wedding anniversary. I never felt exactly celebratory. It really isn't an anniversary without the groom and I missed him. I was cleaning house and waiting on a phone call from the mortgage guy when the phone rang. Answering quickly, since I expected a call, I was surprised when, after a long pause like you get with telemarketers, it was Mark on the other end in Germany. He bought a prepaid phone card and called to wish me happy anniversary. It was so nice to have him call and not have to go through the terror of international dialing myself. We talked maybe 5 or 10 minutes when the card ran out and then the doorbell rang. At the door was a beautiful bouquet of flowers from Mark. He did plan ahead. He had ordered flowers and signed the card. He is sweet, no doubt. Beautiful roses, gerbera daisies, stargazer lilies (my favorite!), and hydrangea. The hydrangea were really a surprise, I've never seen them in a cut arrangement before.

Mark said he had had a beer and a piece of chocolate cake while overlooking beautiful Germany and encouraged me to do something equally celebratory. Once my day began, though, that just sounded lonely to me. So I had a can of pork and beans for lunch (yes, straight out of the can, is that pitiful or what?).

My afternoon at work was a rough one. Equipment problems in the studio, equipment problems with a remote we were doing... Is Mercury ALREADY in retrograde? It sure felt like it. I hope not because I want to get the house closing done and the papers signed before it hits.

Last night B! and I went to see Alegria with Cirque de Soleil. This was maybe the first of those special media privileges I have been offered. I took them up on it. I had a true fear of clowns, but went anyway. The clowns weren't so bad, it was these creepy old bird people with plastic faces and stuffed butt bodies that had me cringing and hoping they weren't sneaking up behind me. Alegria is a circus with no animals, just acrobats, jugglers, gymnasts, contortionists, a strongman, etc. It was beautiful and amazing. I really liked the music, oddly enough. It was accordian, soprano sax, drums. It sounded like a Pepe le Pew cartoon or an old French movie with people at sidewalk cafes. The singer was beautiful and had a fabulous voice. It wasn't what I would have thought I liked, but it was the best part.

I did deliver Miss L Toe and Mambo to LaGrange Wednesday morning, which sure made for a long day. They are happily in their new home with their new cat-house-mate and all is well. On our end, five meowy faces greeted me at the bedroom door this morning. Usually five sharp foursomes of claws are climbing up my legs at this point, but I have the office door closed on them now. Last night I had at least three cats crawling around my neck and up my arms. They are sweet and loving and I got the house cleaned enough last night that it doesn't reek this morning, but I still want more of them to go. One more goes this weekend, two next, and Willie still needs a good home. hint hint

And, the big night out of this week was the Derailers show on Wednesday. I don't want to forget that. Another incredible night under the oaks at the cafe. A much more manageable crowd because of the threat of bad weather, which didn't come, and it was easier to get around in, dance, talk, have fun. The Derailers had an old friend of ours playing steel and it was a great surprise to see him and get to catch up. He and Mark played together a lot 10 years ago. Kevin Fowler got on stage during the gig, too, and did two songs. The broadcast went better than the first week, too. And I discovered where Bob keeps the free beer so I was in much better shape. Only disappointment, and I even hate to admit to this, is that CGP didn't make it in like he had planned. Probably much better that he didnt since I'm working and schmoozing and really don't have time to talk like I would like to when he is around, but I sure wanted to see him.

I'm off this morning to a remote and then to the house closing. A check fell out of the sky yesterday that may make this house closing go even more smoothly. I want to get it done and over with and know how much my house payment is going to be again.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland