Monday, Apr. 25, 2005 9:54 am

We're back

It was a busy Friday and then a very relaxing wonderful weekend celebrating the big Number 12!

Friday I did do the cooking thing with our saleswoman. It was really cool. It took me about an hour (two if you count the drive) and I now have at least 8 meals and lots of future leftovers in the freezer for us. Good stuff, too. Stuff I'd never go buy and try to cook. I'll see this week if I can do the cooking part and if it tastes good.

Friday night a co-worker was celebrating her going away (and we were mourning her going away) at the new restaurant by our building. Glad to get to see the new restaurant and fun to get to drink with co-workers. I ended up staying about 3 hours when I began the night expecting to have one glass of wine and go back to work. When I was done I still had to go back to work and finally got everything done by midnight. It had to be done, we were leaving town.

And leave town we did. Relief! Got out of the city about noon on Saturday and stuck to the back roads all the way to Comfort. Bluebonnets were fading, but there were still plenty and many many other beautiful flowers. My first winecups of the season. And thistles.

We shopped in Comfort, napped in Comfort (I love using Comfort in that double way). Then we went from Comfort to Welfare in ten minutes. Hahahaha. We ate at the Popo in Welfare. Now, THAT is some good eating. No one makes real fried chicken anymore, but the Popo does it right.

After the late dinner we went to Bandera and stopped in to Arky Blue's Silver Dollar. We'd been there on our honeymoon, but during the day, so we stopped this time for the true Saturday night experience. It is pretty amazing that a small town like that can support so many bars!

On back to Comfort, seeing deer along the way. Sunday we had the fabulous breakfast that the B&B provides. His biscuits are so good. An elderly couple from Nebraska shared our table. She asked, "Is he the innkeeper's husband?" Well, he and his partner are the owners, and the woman she is calling the innkeeper just works there. But I hate to alarm someone, so I just said, "He is the owner" and left it at that.

We had debated staying another day and night, but decided we missed the cats and had had a fine vacation, so we packed up the car and went on to Kerrville and Fredericksburg and then home. We stopped at the good candle store and at the wildflower store.

Home in time for another great long nap and then, too lazy to go out again or to cook, we ordered pizza.

Another good anniversary weekend draws to a close. Twelve years ago today we were bopping around Austin on the first day of our marriage. I'm glad we finally found a way to make it our home. We've now lived half of our marriage in Austin.

Today it is back to reality at the station. Already and email from the ass about a song we added last week. I wish I could just laugh at him. And I wish I could kick his fat ass. Okay, I've gone from happy peaceful memories of the trip to the anger that resides at work. Let me go back to that happy place. Ommmmmm.....

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland