Monday, Apr. 17, 2006 11:11 am

Getting started on this week

Monday has swung back around all too quickly. We had a good weekend in Tyler, though things are sometimes weird when we're all together. At one point I was waiting for everyone to get ready to go and I was in the bedroom reading. Mark had asked if I was about ready. I said, I'm ready. I continue reading and then in a bit my step-mother-in-law comes in and goes, Oh, here she is, are you ready? Well, yes I was ready, but no one had said, "We're leaving." Mark was outside at the car with his dad waiting on me. Augh. We had a nice lunch at the nursing home with his grandmother and folks. I think it was very hard on Mark to see his grandmother so old. I know how it feels, poor thing. His s-m-i-l can be so odd. I love her and she was my friend long before I met him and his dad, but she is weirder now. You can say something to her and she responds defensively or aggressively, although I don't think she sees it that way at all. Mark's dad gave him a couple of things that had been in his grandparent's house. I asked Mark about it and he said, yes, they were cleaning out the house and getting it ready to sell. Yes, that makes sense. She's in a nursing facility and she won't be living on her own any more. The house should be sold. So then, when I'm with her alone, I say, "I didn't realize that yall were breaking up housekeeping at the house." She bites back, "We had to! We can't afford to keep her in this facility. It is expensive!" On and on. I wasn't criticizing, I was just commenting.

Anyway, it is always so nice to back home in my messy little office and my disorganized little Pecan world.

I had a crown come off of a tooth on Friday while I ate some jelly beans. DAMN. I haven't been to a dentist in a long while, so I just made an appointment with a new dentist. I haven't found a dentist here that I really love. That expensive one in Lakeway was too smarmy and way too expensive. The one in Manchaca is nice, but a little cold and old-fashioned. I found this one through a coupon and he's not far from the house. It will be a couple of hundred dollars just to have this crown reglued. I know I need other work done, too, but I'll see if I like him before I start asking about root canals and new night guards and such.

Before I get away from this computer this morning, I am going to get new car tags and pay for the makeup I bought from a friend. Or I could just take her $20 on Wednesday. Decisions decisions. No wonder things don't get done.

Tonight I may or may not go to the east side for Mark's gig. Double D is in town, too, and I think I'll go by and see him a little bit first at least. I may stay. Who knows.

I need to get back to my daily lists of things to accomplish. Today I will send a check to the police department for an alarm permit. I will arrange for my car tags online. And, yes, I will send her $20 through the bank just so it is done. That is my three things. If I get them done I can feel good about this day.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland