Friday, Apr. 16, 2004 10:58 pm

Poetry of the fatigued mind

Friday night sure rolled around fast. I don't quite know how it happens.

The music series Wednesday with Rick Trevino was great. Very professional band and presentation. I had never met him before. Didn't really get to know him this time either, but at least I can say we've met now. I have been feeling like crap every day this week and Wednesday was about the worst of it. I had a splitting headache all through the day. Beer and ibuprofen numbed it some at the gig that night, but I didn't stick around long after I was through.

Last night I finally had really good alone time at home. Hooray. There is a box I have that I put things every two weeks when the maids are coming. I put all the piles of papers and bills and little things that accumulate on the desk and around this office that I don't need them straightening for me. I put them in this box. I put the box in the closet. Two weeks go by and it is maid time again and I put more things in the box. The box becomes a pit of unpaid bills and forgotten documents. Finally, last night, I went through the box and it was thrown away and (most) everything in it was filed or sorted or tossed or taken care of. I had good company while I worked. I was e-mailing with CGP and with my Teacher and it made for a fun evening.

I met with a book editor this week. She's the friend of Perfect C and she edits books and I have a book to be edited so I met up with her. I didn't dislike her but I didn't feel a rapport with her that I would like to feel with someone that is going to be working so closely with me. She also doesn't read the kind of fiction that I write, and that seems like a drawback to me. Not that she couldn't do a good job, but maybe not the best job. She has three of my chapters and is going to make some recommendations and give me some ideas of what she would suggest. Maybe from that I'll have a clearer idea of her abilities.

I also went to a writing seminar/workshop today. Yawn. It was on poetry and mental health and was part of the festival that is in town. The coffee house was noisy and they had the Jackson Five playing loud on the stereo and the place has no acoustics so everything was echoing back and forth. And the guy was boring. He would lecture and read quotes and read the quote again with more emphasis and then he would read on of his poems. It could have been a workshop and taught a little of how to put feelings and memories into a poem in order to improve your mental health, but it wasn't. The Teacher went with me to this, too, bless her heart and she almost fell asleep. Didn't blame her.

We had a nice taco for lunch and then went to her house for a lesson. I forgot about a singer that was coming by the station to meet me so the receptionist was frantically calling the house and my cell looking for me and panicking. I got there and met him, but I was embarassed that I had forgotten the appointment.

Tonight B! and I ate at Jovita's and saw the Jane Bond band. Good music and good food and I'm tired.

My mind is tired, but my tummy's full

If I could write a poem, that would be cool.

Instead I'll put down some rhyming lines

And leave you without resolution.

Sorry.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland