Tuesday, Apr. 13, 2004 10:57 am

Alone, hooray

I've been here at the desk for almost two hours now and haven't done any "work" that I intended to do and haven't practiced the accordion. What have I done? Answered e-mail, read sites. I do love having the time to do this... I hope I haven't forgotten some important appointment for today.

There really was a lunch scheduled that I was supposed to be at, but I'm assuming I don't have to go. Our promotions department is amazing. They have us everywhere and visible and I don't know how they do it, I really don't. But sometimes they overbook us. We have so many promotions going on at one time there is no time for our audience to absorb them and participate in them. Such was the case for this lunch I was to host today. Not one person signed up for the activity that would allow them to lunch with me. Not one! I don't think it was uninterest as unawareness. Which is fine. I was up early yesterday and I'll be up early tomorrow. I needed a break.

I love being at home alone. Last night Mark said he would be on his typical Monday night "networking" effort. Hooray. A night alone. An hour or so later he changed his mind. Damn! He told me I could act as if I were home alone and do whatever I would do if I were alone. Then he asked if I would slice ham for him. And then he got unhappy when I said no. It was a honeybaked sliced ham, for heaven's sake! It was sliced. What he wanted was for me to come pull off pieces and trim them for his sandwich. What a baby. I had my time alone but it just isn't the same when he's in the house, too.

I am going to get some work done here at home before I go in. I must. When I get to work I end up getting calls and interruptions and can't accomplish as much. I do have more available time now that my San Antonio station demoted me. I need to figure out how to structure my day better now that I don't have that obligation.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland