Saturday, Apr. 17, 2004 12:07 pm

My Good Deed

I've done my good deed for the day. Nathan was mewing at the front door to be let in. I let him in. No, that wasn't the good deed. From his mouth protruded a long green tail. Nathan had brought home a toy. I made him let him go and he dropped the poor frightened lizard and walked away as if he didn't care if he could play with it or not. Oh, but Willie! Willie doesn't get to go out and see nature in the wild. Maybe Nathan brought the lizard home as a toy for Willie. That's the way Willie saw it, for sure. He pounced with a vengence on poor lizard. I picked him up and made him drop the lizard and tossed him back into the living room a few feet while I dealt with the lizard. Oh, but Willie is fast for a furry ball of fat. He was back on him again. I picked him up again and made him drop the lizard and, this time, tossed Willie back into the bedroom. But, quick as a shot, before I could shut the door, he was back in search of the lizard. The lizard had learned to hide better by this time and Willie wasn't able to get him in his mouth. I scoop up Willie again, toss him into the bedroom and close the door this time. Now, for the lizard rescue. I think the poor lizard was still in a state of shock and wasn't at his best at running. He had changed his color quickly to blend in with the entryway tile, which is a cool ability to have. I sometimes wish I could blend into the woodwork myself. I was able to get a hand down on the lizard's tale and catch him up and toss him outside. Still in shock, he was just sitting there breathing deeply the last time I saw him. He was breathing, at least. I wanted him to run off and hide in the bushes, even though he was outside and the cats were all inside. It's one thing for Nathan to kill lizards outside when they are all on equal footing and it is nature and natural selection and all that, but I don't allow killing within the house.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland