Monday, Feb. 09, 2004 10:20 am

No voice

This weekend did fly by, much too quickly. Especially since the voice flew away with it. I am pondering this morning how much work I am capable of today. I think I will go in and try to do my San Antonio shows rapidly and do all the non-talking things I can do and then maybe get someone else to be on for me in the afternoon. I hate that, I want to be there, but I don't want to risk wearing it out even more. We've got a special deal on Wednesday night I do NOT want to miss or have no voice for.

Mark is still in El Paso. Kind of funny what transpired, though he won't be able to laugh about it until much later. He went out there prepared to set up the gear for a music festival. Indoors, no problem. He gets out there and finds out these two bands are playing after a RODEO. And the "stage" is that tiny platform that all rodeos have where they have their little cowboy band play between ropin's and buckin's. They had to haul all this equipment up through bleachers and stairs and crowd it onto a tiny stage. A tiny little stage in the rafters for the Fabulous T-birds and for Los Lobos? Some booking agent wasn't asking the right questions or putting the right info into the rider, apparently.

Jack Ingram's show at the Paramount was really incredible. Neat theatrical presentation with him transitioning from his "motel" room to the stage and back. The band was hot. My only complaint at the Paramount is the feeling of constriction... hard to just jump up and shout. But, the benefit is you can hear Jack when he talks and hear every lyric. The new Acoustic Motel tour CD was out and I bought it (you can get it on his website). It's amazing. It has stories that I heard him tell when I saw him last winter, but he didn't tell Saturday, so it was a nice "refresher." Also bought a couple of other CDs of his I did not have, so I believe my Jack collection is complete for now.

I was feeling punky all day Saturday... it was a too-long day. I think that is what makes me sick. That and the two big glasses of wine Friday night may have reduced my immunity. Remote that morning at an appliance store, a visit with my grandmother to find her MUCH better than two weeks ago, thankfully, and then on the air for a while and then to the show. After the show I also felt it necessary to go to Midnight Rodeo and see Aaron Watson for a little bit. Didn't stay too long but I did get to see his new bus. Man, I haven't had a man take me on a tour bus in a long long time. Gino gave me the tour. No seduction, dammit! I thought that was supposed to happen on tour buses. I guess not in a business relationship with an almost over-the-hill woman.

Speaking of my age. Visiting my grandmother, it was good to see her sense of humor shine through a bit. I was just grabbing for any topic of conversation with her and I commented, "Mamma, my birthday is coming up and I'm going to be 45!" She paused a long minute and then said, "Pecan, you're getting old." Funny from a 97 year old woman.

Yesterday I woke up knowing I was losing my voice. I hate that feeling because there isn't a lot I can do at that point. At least I didn't do a lot of talking through the day. I did go see Always, Patsy Cline at the Zach with my accordion teacher. That was a fun outing. She's very cool to be with. She talks a lot, but she has interesting stories. She used to have a relationship with one of the Cowsills. How cool is that?

Maids coming in a while. I am not one to clean house for them, but it is way junky this morning so I do need to do some pickup or they won't be able to even get in the house. It will be nice and clean for Mark's return tonight.

Oh, and a possibility of a band gig for Mark that would involve more travel and be quite prestigious. I'm keeping my fingers crossed. He needs that kind of validation.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland