December 31, 2002 10:51 am

New Year's Eve....really??

I've been re-reading entries from last year about this time and through the year. What a year! I am SO glad it is over. The most frightening thing is that I was saying that same thing LAST year at this time. I felt sure a year ago that things would be brighter in 2002. They couldn't have been worse, I thought. WRONG. Truly, though, I'm glad that the horrible job I was in a year ago ended when it did. It moved me on to good sleep again, a wonderful job as a medical transcriptionist, and then all the changes that eventually led me to afternoons on my favorite radio station. It has definitely been an upswing all year.

Since Christmas I have been in a funk that I guess I will just have to learn to live with and know that it happens each year. Probably just a little bit of nostalgia for childhood and the way things were.

Dad's health has not improved, though it hasn't worsened either. His neurologist is closed until Jan. 2, so they don't have the latest results from her yet, or her recommendations. He is in a LOT of pain and suffering, which, of course, makes my mother suffer, too.

I worked 10 hours yesterday on a day where I had every intention of making it a very short day. I did get a lot done, but I anticipate that I still might be working on New Year's Day a bit. We'll see. I'll try not to.

It doesn't feel like New Year's Eve to me. I know I'm going to work in a bit, but I need to prepare because I will probably go straight from work to the Pub where Mark is playing without coming home to change. What to wear? I am not going to be fancy since this is Austin!! I think it will be a long night, but I'm trying not to think that way in advance. Take it as it comes.

Take it as it comes. Maybe that will be my New Year's Resolution. I didn't make any last year, but I think I will make some this year. One is to get some more damn memory on this computer or whatever it takes to make it work faster without the long hesitations it has gearing up for the next task.

I also need to resolve to jump in here and WRITE! As I thought about writing this morning I was thinking "I have nothing to write about," but obviously I have found seven paragraphs to put down on a page. That's something. Writing. It's going to be higher on my priority list this year. I promise.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland