Monday, Sept. 08, 2008 12:35 am

Oh! Death

I'm glad to see that I did write one day this week so I don't have too much catch-up. It has been a day of deaths.

I did not go to Dallas because Martha said there was no purpose and we knew I would be going up soon enough anyway. I called her yesterday afternoon and talked a little bit. I told her to turn on the UT game for Les. He loved watching the Longhorns. If anything is getting into his little mind, I'd rather it be football than sadness. Mark had an evening gig and was out very late. He got an email from his mother very late that Les had passed away soon after midnight. That made me think he waited until the Horns beat UTEP to let go.

We started making our plans for his Wednesday funeral, deciding to go up Tuesday and back Thursday. I notified everyone I needed to. I went shopping yesterday (torture) and got a dress and a pants outfit and shoes and socks and hose and new bras. I needed everything for this nice funeral.

Today we slept late and Mark went out shopping for a new belt and boots and I stayed home to watch the Cowboys. Mom called during the game (we'd already talked once) and said that Larry had called. Uncle Jay passed away just after 11 this morning after being somewhat restless and Larry going in to give him a shot. He sort of took Larry's hand and died. Aunt Louie was in the den watching church service. It was all very peaceful. Garry had already gotten as far as Abilene on his trip home so he turned around and came back.

I called Larry and talked a bit and he put Aunt Louie on the phone, too, which was flattering because she didn't talk to my mother or want to talk to anybody. We just talked briefly. Later, Carolyn called and left a message that they wanted me and my sister to sing at the funeral like we had at another uncle's (30+ years ago!!). I called back to say I didn't think I could do it. Larry answered and I said, "Larry, Carolyn called and asked about me and M singing at the funeral." He didn't miss a beat and said, "Well, yes, but we talked to M and she said we shouldn't let you be singing anywhere anytime." We laughed and laughed. In my family, we can laugh all around death. I had just told my mother this morning that I didn't want their funerals to be at the same time because I'd enjoy Jay's much more, but I would be obligated to go to the other. That was before Jay died. So, because of my schedule, they made the funeral Tuesday and I will be there. I will go up to Dallas tomorrow and then with the family on Tuesday to that service and then back. Mark will just go on and be with his mother.

My sweet younger nephew called this afternoon just to visit. It was very nice.

I did complete a bit part of my genealogy project last night. I have been going through my cousins outline list of descendant and comparing it to mine and telling him where his mistakes are and adding some individuals, too. It has taken forever. I at least have sent him all the corrections. Next he will send me his corrected list and I will go through it again. Then I need to make a copy of my information and get it to that irritating cousin in Comanche.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland