Wednesday, Sept. 03, 2008 3:56 pm

From Work

I didn't squander my weekend too much. I did rest a lot and had a wonderful lunch at Matt's El Rancho on Monday which really made it feel like a holiday.

Mark didn't go to Dallas, but he went up there yesterday. His stepdad is coming home from the hospital right now, but is only coming home to die. They will have hospice care for him. He still has all of his wits (and wit!) at 95, but is very frail and his body is giving out on him. I'm glad Mark is there. I may go up this weekend.

I did some intense genealogy last night. A marathon. Over the weekend I had a file get corrupted and I didn't have a very recent backup so I started putting in the info all over again and backing up every little bit. Last night I was up until 5 a.m. Still a lot to do and I don't know when I'll get back to it. I sure liked it. It is really a rush and it is like a never ending chain. Every time I find one thing I want to find another. I got another letter from the cousin that bugs me, asking for my "changes." She makes it sound like I will write down two or three items and that's it. I have made HUNDREDS and HUNDREDS of additions and corrections and changes. It is overwhelming. I got very excited last night when I found one of the original 12 of the family had two kids that we don't have records of. I wonder why we don't?? I will go back to the 1938 book and see if they were listed there. One died as a baby, but the other grew up and had a husband and children so I can't imagine why she was left off.

Tonight we had our headliner cancel, last minute. We made a poor substitution and I'm not looking forward to tonight's show. I'm not looking forward to much in the next three weeks except this all ending. Of course, there will always be more to do and another season facing us in March, which will be here all too fast.

I'm at the office waiting on Jimmy LaF to come get a check. I'm going to leave soon if he doesn't show. I've got places to be and I am FREEZING in this office. I'm going to have to bring a sweatshirt AND socks up here.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland