Thursday, Sept. 21, 2006 12:09 pm

Cotton fired

I guess vacation is really over today as ratings have begun for the fall book and I need to get up to the station. I am very curious at what I will find when I get there, too. Cotton called this morning before I was out of bed so I ignored it and didn't call him back. He called again an hour later so I answered, but I wanted to say "I'm still on vacation until I set foot in the building!" But he was calling to tell me that he had been fired this morning. Wow. Big news. I don't know how this will change things and I dread to find out. I will just go about my regular daily duties and HOPE HOPE HOPE that the boss doesn't expect me to pick up some of his responsibilities. Scary. I feel sorry for him, but he has brought this upon himself some and, of course, in the job he was in, there is no outcome except to be fired (or quit in frustration). He quit several months ago (I need to go back and see how long it has been) and a friend and I talked him into not quitting and to spend the time preparing to leave. Has he done anything in these past few months to prepare himself to leave? I don't think so.

The one good outcome (I suppose) is that I will get more remotes now. We'll see. Lots of them are when I can't do them and I don't know who they will get then.

The sad news that came yesterday was that Don Walser died. He had been ill with diabetes for several years and unable to perform, so I know he wasn't well, but it is a sad loss for Austin. He was a very nice man. We met him at a fried chicken place in Sweetwater that we love. He and his family just came in and were eating. After a while I whispered to Mark, "That's Don Walser!" He nodded calmly. He had already figured that out. Eventually we got to talking to them and I told him that my dad was a big fan. He sent his son out to their van for photos and tapes and autographed one for Dad and for us and gave us the tapes. He was very generous. Once we moved to Austin we saw him at Babe's. I remember his wife Pat working a crossword at his merch table while he played. I admired her for being able to do that. I've always wanted to sit at a corner table and read a book during Mark's gigs, but I feel that would look rude.

I interviewed Willie of the SAJB yesterday on the air. He isn't the most dynamic interview, but I like him. Their show was good last night at the cafe and the weather was perfect. I am so glad that it is all about to be over. Six months of Wednesdays there is a long long time.

I'd better get dressed and get to work. Don't dare be late, I might get fired.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland