Sunday, Oct. 23, 2022 11:21 am

Almost Day of the Dead

A month has flown by. I went to Tyler last weekend and enjoyed my time with those friends. She is doing worse with her Alzheimer's, not recognizing her grandson in a photo, having no idea where to sit at the dining table, etc. That is sad, but she's mobile and happy and we all went to an art show and that was fun.

I'm getting three free trees! That is the biggest excitement in my life. One will be next Saturday and I'm not sure about the other two, they are supposed to come straight to the house. One is from the city I'm in and the others are from the electric company and the Arbor Day Foundation. I wish I could take 20 but it is hard to plan where even three can go when I have buildings and electrical lines and water lines and such to think about. I wish I could put them where they could shade the back porch better, but that would be too close to the house. They'll all be beautiful and I can't wait to see what size they are and see how they will grow.

The vitex that came with the house is lots bigger than it was a year ago. I had no idea they bloomed all spring, summer, and fall. It is still going. It is also maintenance free! A volunteer vitex came up and I've moved it. I hope that it gets its roots established and comes through the winter and gets big, too. I just might shade the porch some day.

It is super hot in the house right now and I should close the back door and turn on the AC. It's been close to 90 several days this week, but Monday was fall cool. Tomorrow may be cool and rainy. I hope so.

Yesterday my sister and I went to a "witch store." She gets freaked out a lot by a witch store. I don't see them the same. I bought some tea and candles. I wish they had had more essential oils and more crystals. They only had a couple of shelves of crystals and they were all small. I guess that is more metaphysical and not "witch."

I had a good visit with Mother yesterday. She was in the bathroom trying to make her eye look better, she said. It was very red again. She said it was so bad looking that she would just take her meals in her room. I don't know if she had at lunch or not. Then I brought her Payday candy bars and M&Ms and she said "Oh I won't have to go to dinner!" I wasn't paying attention to the time at at 4:55 she said, "Aren't I supposed to go to dinner at 5?" I said, "Oh yes, I guess you are." and she was up to go put on lipstick and go to the dining room! I was glad she was. I headed home and stopped at Braums for a few groceries.

My boss had bladder cancer surgery on Monday. He says they got it all. I sure hope so. He is too young to have to even think about cancer.

Today WILL be the day I get my day of the dead altar up. First I've got a lot of house cleaning to do to even get to that counter (it will be on the dining room counter and not on the mantle).

This may look silly when I read it in a couple of months, but between now and Christmas I am going to try very hard to take my vitamins every day, have a smoothie every day, have my yogurt and fruit most days, and drink less. I'm not attempting to lose weight, though that would be a nice side benefit. I just want to see if I can get some more energy and interest in the world going for me. I've been going to bed early most days and I really do like doing that. Going to be by about 9 and reading for a while and then really getting a good night of sleep. I should have been doing this for years.

I've let Phil outside the last couple of days. I've been out there with him the whole time and I've got the couple of fence holes blocked. I hope he can be content to go out once a day and stay mostly around the porch and not drive me crazy. He was a bit obnoxious sometime in the night last night, but I shut him out of the bedroom so that solved it for me.

One nephew in the midst of a high level deal to sell his company, staying in a fancy downtown Dallas hotel and eating at the Capital Grill with other CFOs and CEOs. The other was off to Dublin for meetings in his new job this week and then hopped over to Holland to see the cousins that are about to have a baby and his grandmother and aunts and uncles. It feels like they live in a different world from me, but I guess I was pretty high flying and important when I was about their age too! Maybe only high flying in that I was a traffic reporter, ha.

Before || After
Older Entries
Sick Part 2 - Tuesday, Dec. 13, 2022
Sick for the Holidays - Wednesday, Dec. 07, 2022
Vacation - Monday, Nov. 21, 2022
Mom's COVID and Election - Sunday, Nov. 13, 2022
Weekday report - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2022
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland