Monday, Nov. 21, 2022 10:40 am

Vacation

I am on vacation! What will I do with these two days (it's a whole week, but there will be baking on Wednesday, family on Thursday and Friday). I did pull out the Christmas decorations yesterday so I'm starting there. The trees are up, but I'm missing the electricity plug in thing for the fiber tree.

I do want to get outside today and cut down cannas and frozen things. We definitely got a freeze and I can clean up the cannas and mulch those beds and it will look nice.

I had a lot of fun Saturday at the thrift store. I knew they had NEW lamps for sale so I went for that and got two nice tall new lamps for $45. They are beside the bed now and look so adult! But they also had this very cool funky monkey lamp with two bulbs/shades and 3 monkeys (see no evil, etc) on two palm trees. Crazy cute for $16. I came home and looked it up on eBay and such and it is $189+ there. Shipping would be a fortune, too. My shades are kind of ratty, but they look to be the original ones from all the other photos. I also got a cute little chaise lounge for the kitties. I set it up in the living room and Moon Pie just now discovered it and sat on it a while. It is a bit small for my cats, it looks like. But she at least tried it.

Yesterday I cleaned out the freezer. Amazing how dirty a freezer I hardly use can get in a year. I need to do the same for the refrigerator. At least I did pull out the dead things in there. I cooked a tuna casserole last night. I may try to do some bread or rolls or even fudge sometime. There are a few things I need at the grocery so I must check my recipes to see what is missing.

I did get to visit Mom Saturday for the first time in 2 weeks. She's well now. We had a good time watching football. She always tells me how she and her mother would listen to college football by the radio when she was growing up. Sweet tradition we still share.

It is so nice and quiet here in the house. I think I will like retirement someday. Obviously I need to establish more routine and interests before then. As long as I can still use the computer and work puzzles and read and be interested in TV I'll be okay!

Before || After
Older Entries
Feels So Good Feeling Good Again - Thursday, Feb. 09, 2023
New Year and Back to It - Saturday, Feb. 04, 2023
To Be Cont - Friday, Dec. 23, 2022
Sick Part 2 - Tuesday, Dec. 13, 2022
Sick for the Holidays - Wednesday, Dec. 07, 2022
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland