October 14, 2003 12:49 am

Suicidal Cat?

Most of my weekend was really nice. I liked the cool LOOKING weather---even if it was still in the 80s and muggy as standing in front of a teakettle. With the drizzle, clouds, and rain, it felt like fall. I watched half of the UT/OU game until it became just hopeless and pointless to pass up a nap to continue to watch.

The big event, the CAT-astrophe of the weekend happened Sunday evening. Mark and I had both worked through the afternoon Sunday. Me at a remote and he at the Bizarre Bazaar on South Lamar. I went by it too and had a fun time. When we both got home we'd settled into the living room and were eating some good gumbo I had made. Little Willie, the kitten, was playing with his favorite toy, a grocery sack, the plastic-y kind. He was batting it around and playing in the kitchen when one of the dogs (allowed to be up on the porch because it was raining) barked at Willie through the glass door. Willie jumped, startled, and ran like the dog was right on his heels through the living room. The sack was still attached to him somehow. I don't know if it on his legs or over his head, but all I saw was a blur of a white sack fly through the living room. Mark and I were laughing at that sight when it came back into the living room and flew toward me. He leaped onto a little end table with my glass of ice tea and as I was trying to keep it from spilling my bowl of hot gumbo overturned in my lap and onto the new carpet. I'm dealing with this as Willie runs through to the office and I hear a huge crash. I can't imagine what he's broken but Mark witnessed it all. Willie ran and jumped straight THROUGH the window. A closed window. He broke the glass out, knocked the screen out and off and disappeared! I jumped into my shoes and ran out to the side of the house while Mark ran out to the front. I found poor Willie cowering at the front of the side yard. If he still had claws he would have climbed that fence and have been blocks away, I'm sure. I gathered him up and rushed him back to the house. There was a little blood on one paw and a bad gash in his skull that exposed the bare bone, but it was small and there wasn't much blood. Amazingly, he hadn't been eviscerated. The poor thing was SO terrified. We got him calmed down and doctored the wounds and decided he didn't need a trip to the vet. He needed a kitty valium but a lot of love and cuddling got him back to normal before long and he was wrestling with Nate again. Of course, I felt like a bad parent to allow this to happen. Who would EVER forsee their cat jumping THROUGH a window? Still pretty hard to fathom.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland