Friday, May. 06, 2011 8:25 am

bin Laden is dead, but I am not yet

Well, I truly thought I'd written since our anniversary.

I did go to the doctor a week ago (the Ob/Gyn) and he was quite certain it is a parasite in my gut, but wanted me to have a test. I took a sample to the lab on Monday, but they didn't like my sample much and said it might not work, but I said to test it anyway. It's been several days and no word yet, but I'm still sick. But I have had an appetite this week, which is good.

I'm sitting on the porch and it was very comfortable and delightful until the neighbor across the fence began mowing. At 830 in the morning? Come on now!! That's not neighborly at all. I guess they figure on a weekday that's fair game.

At work, I continue to have anxiety and be tense. After losing my biggest client I may now be losing my oldest client. I don't deal directly with them, but they let go their consultant I dealt with and are now looking at a new provider. My salesman is in there batting, but even if "we" should keep it, I don't think I'd be the one to be able to do their music. It is too avant garde and out there for me to have a clue how to find it . . . or want to find it.

Tomorrow I'm going to Dallas to celebrate Mother's Day and to bring her home with me for a week. The house was finally cleaned yesterday (it has been way over a month) and it is livable for a little while.

We did go to Decoration Day last weekend, too, and that was really nice except for the rushed, exhausting trip. But to see Aunt Billie was a joy and Mark recorded a lot of her talking and stories and I scanned a lot of the pictures in her 50th wedding anniversary photo album. We went up Friday night (to my sister's) and came back on Saturday night all the way, which was rough, but I got to sleep a LOT on Sunday.

I guess I'll go to work. I could stay and sit here and write and surf and edit pictures and find a million things to do if I stayed home. Or could I? Wednesday night I was home soon after work (just stopped at the grocery store). I napped for a short while (tiredness being one of the worst symptoms of this whole deal) and then I could not do anything. I couldn't even enjoy genealogy when I had some time for it.

He turned off the mower! Nope, started it up again. Dang.

Oh -- and I hate when I don't write about MAJOR NEWS OF MY TIME. Someone is going to come back to this diary one day and say "Did she not even realize that _____ happened?" It's not really like that at all, but several days have passed and, being human, I am self-centered and thinking more about the condition of my poop than I am about world events.

But . . . It truly has been a momentous week. Last Sunday night (5/1/2011), Mark had the TV on and I was moving around the house doing laundry or something when they broke in with a special news report that the President was going to be speaking soon. Well, that's weird. The President doesn't speak on a Sunday night. We didn't have any time to even draw any conclusions or suppositions though, because the news anchors did that for us when they said the word on the streets was that Osama bin Laden had been killed. Now THAT would be good news.

One of the subtexts in all of this (and the one I posted on Facebook) was that Donald Trump has been an ass for weeks now, demanding to see the birth certificate of Obama and needing proof that he could be our president, etc. Just a few days earlier, the White House did release the long form birth certificate (so now he is questioning how Obama got into Harvard). After they released it, he said he was "proud" that he had made this happen (though he still wanted to examine it --- ass). Trumps Celebrity Apprentice show is on Sunday nights and Sunday night, this interruption came when it had about 15 minutes to go and they hadn't learned who was getting fired yet. I said Obama was saying "Oh you think YOU have power? Watch this!"

But the news was incredible and it has been a week of dissecting the raid and whether bin Laden is truly dead or not (they want to see the death certificate) and why we buried him at sea and why the White House won't release pictures of his dead body, etc. It has been interesting. I hope it sweeps Obama into a second term in office, along with more good things to come. The employment numbers were a lot better today, so that is another good thing.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland