2000-05-27 1:16 am

Perfect Austin day

This turned into a Perfect Austin day once I got up and going. If I could just get these days underway a few hours earlier it would be great.

Skipping the unimportant non-Austin part of the day, let's move on to my pleasant afternoon. I headed for work but was starving starving. I went to the Magnolia and had a great hamburger. For just a quick accessible delicious hamburger, there is no better place than the Magnolia. I love the jalapeno/cheeseburger but today just opted for the hamburger. There's a bar on Sixth hidden in the shadows with no name outside that might have better hamburgers than the Magnolia but they are slow, hard to get to and you can't just sit and enjoy a meal in the same way. I'll take the Magnolia. I read the Austin American-Statesman articles about the sentencing of Clifford Antone. Antone has made this town what it is as the center of the live music world and it is sad to see him going off to jail for four years for selling marijuana. Murder, rape, theft? Hang 'em high, but drug sales, while liquor sales are perfectly legal, is ludicrous.

Finished the slow peaceful lunch and went next door to the new store Prima Dora, owned by the Magnolia people. Cool stuff. Quite fancy for that part of town. Met Christine and Diana (clerk and owner, respectively) and saw all sorts of neat soaps and creams, and honey and fresh flowers and cards and HATS HATS and more HATS. I wish every woman wore hats again. I feel weird when I wear my hats but I love them. I am going to have to get a hat from Prima Dora. They were really wonderful and they fit my big head (a requirement for disc jockies). They also had some cool clothes that I didn't try on today since I was sweaty--this is Austin, after all.

On to work and a slog through all the weekend shows, Monday's Memorial Day shows and Tuesday shows. Want to know what happens this weekend? Everyone has a fun, but hot, Memorial Day weekend and many of us got sunburned out at the lake/pool/resovoir.

Took a break in the evening and went up to Texpresso. I forget the owners name there but I like him. I was overcome with guilt when they put a sign out front that said, "Austin, why do you support Seattle?" Yes, I stop at Starbucks. It's in the building, it's convenient and the coffee makers are very nice and friendly. But I like this guy too and the walk did me good.

In front of the Paramount were firetrucks and police and ambulance. The crowd from the theater was obviously leaving but no one seemed to be evacuating or in any hurry. A few came across to Texpresso and I found out the scoop. Turns out, the projectionist had collapsed during the first reel of Casablanca. No one discovered it until the reel ran out and the second one didn't begin. The theater people went to investigate and found him collapsed and apparently in serious condition. They had to cancel the movie showings. Hope the guy is alright.

I have discovered something about myself. I must be a "rescuer." Mark has had much more therapy over the years than me and learned at one point that he is a rescuer and that is probably why he married his last wife. He wasn't able to save her (thank goodness! or I wouldn't have gotten him). I find myself trying to fix things for everybody so that everybody is happy. Maybe that isn't being a rescuer, maybe I just am eager to please or be liked or it is a mothering instinct or something. Example: my boss drove me up to my sewing class Tuesday night. His cell phone (which he is on constantly) rings and someone I work with is desperate to get in touch with one of our stations in another city. My boss is trying to help him and find a phone number or a contact to get him to. Now, my boss has an amazing memory and amazing control over all of the details that he deals with in our business. It is truly mind-boggling. Despite knowing how he WILL know the answer or the answer is out of everyone's reach, I desperately wanted to say, "Who's number do they need? What city is it? Can I help?" Chances are incredibly slim that there was anything I could have done to help but I wanted to jump in there so bad. Maybe I just like to interfere!

I have worked for the last twelve days straight and now I have a three day weekend. Hooray. I am really looking forward to it. We've got the guys in the band coming for lunch Sunday and I've got to decide what to cook for them and my folks are coming Monday to visit, but all in all it is going to be a wonderful relaxing weekend. . .or else!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland