2000-06-01 12:48 pm

Lots o' company

Wow, already June 1. I haven't even begun on my New Year's Resolutions yet.

Memorial Day weekend was a big success. We had all the guys from the band over for lunch on Sunday. I cooked barbeque chicken breasts for sandwiches with coleslaw on them. Husbands can be aggravating. Mark said, "Make it simple on yourself, whatever you want to cook is fine, we can order pizza." He SAID all those things, but things change when it comes down to Sunday. I love him dearly and the sweetheart did all the grocery shopping for me Saturday night, which was really sweet. But, Sunday I'm cooking in the hot kitchen and he suggests, "Leave some of the chicken without the barbeque sauce in case anybody doesn't want the sauce." "Too late," I reply with clenched teeth. Then, we are busy serving and getting the food out and I have these beautiful chicken sandwiches with cole slaw that is made to be put ON the sandwiches as their dressing and "crunch" and Mark says, "Uh, do we have any lettuce and tomatoes to put on these?" "NO! They are made to have cole slaw. Everyone can eat the cole slaw on it or not but that's what we have!" He backed off, seeing as how I was holding a sharp knife. I made deviled eggs and for dessert, apple pies and ice cream, and it was a fun afternoon. As soon as the company left, I laid down and slept for three hours. I don't know how people do it that entertain frequently.

My folks came to town Monday and stayed two nights. They were here to visit my grandmother before my dad has his surgery on June 16. We visited her Tuesday morning and she was in great shape--no complaining, she was up and dressed when we got there and had interesting stories to tell that weren't too confused.

I took the folks to Callahan's General Store for entertainment purposes. They loved it and bought a washer game (pitching washers) for my nephews to play with when they stay at my folks this weekend. I bought bird seed and chew toys for my dogs.

We ate at lots of wonderful Austin establishments. We took them to Curra's Monday night. I had never eaten there and enjoyed it. I know I would enjoy it more on the patio with a margarita and if I had lots of money, but it was good. The vegetarian mole enchiladas were great. You have to pay extra for chips and hot sauce which seems like a sacrilege in Texas. Jim Hightower was a couple of tables away and that impressed Mom and Dad greatly that he was there. They would have been more impressed by a conservative Republican, but he was a celebrity nonetheless.

Tuesday I took them to lunch at Texicalli and had great sandwiches. They loved it and Cornell Hurd came in to eat while we were there which was more celebrity spotting and gives them something to tell their friends. Of course, they have to go into the long explanation of who Cornell Hurd is and I'm sure by now they have either forgotten they saw him at all or morphed him into my husband's best friend who is the greatest and most well-known singer in Austin, possibly dating Sandra Bullock.

I have had dream after dream this week of losing things, having things stolen, scrambling to get on a plane but having lost my ticket, etc. I won't bore you with details, dreams are so boring to others, but I'm sure it is a sign that I need to unclutter more of my life and get things in order. Too, our financial situation is quite precarious and I'm feeling great pressure and lack of control there.

This weekend one of my friends in Austin is moving to Hawaii and next week my best friend that lives in Hawaii moves to Fiji. I'm quite happy I have found my home and am perfectly content to live in Austin for the rest of my days. We're at the one year mark of living here and I feel, in some ways, that we've been here our whole lives.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland