Monday, May. 02, 2005 9:22 am

Weekend is gone

Already Monday! Time sure flies, but I did get some good rest through the weekend. Yes, I am officially old: My rest schedule is always uppermost on my mind.

Going back to Wednesday night... Our show at the cafe went very well. This band has been with us each year. They are the group from Amarillo. The first year was great, but last year seemed bland. They were back to great and exciting Wednesday and I enjoyed it a lot. They are incredibly nice people and I enjoy their company, too. The crowd was about 600. Not huge, but a good size all the way around. Easy to get to the beer and food, but enough that everyone makes money (I hope).

Thursday night we had our kickoff concert for the hospital radiothon. Randy R. was on my show in the afternoon and we talked (mostly OFF air) about the exciting things about to happen in his career. Most are still secret from the world. I've heard some rumors that he is getting smug and snobby and "too cool." I saw a tiny bit of that, but I hope he keeps his head through this new-found fame. His show that night ws very good. I had to be out there for the introductions. I worked at the station for two hours and then ran over there, grabbing a Burger King Jr. Whopper on the way, and had to be there a couple of hours.

Oh, this is funny. Listeners are amusing. A woman had called a week or so ago with a bright cheerful tone: "Hi, I'm driving from San Marcos up to Round Rock so I'm going to be in the car for a while... would you play me _____ by the K____s of the Motel 6? Sure, I say, I'll see if I can get it for you. An hour later the same woman calls, but all friendliness is gone (imagine the voice of the devil in the Exorcist): You SAID you'd play my song and you DIDN'T play my song and I've been listening an HOUR. You SAY you support local musicians but you DON'T. At this point I've learned not to argue so I say, "Okay?"

So now we're at Thursday night. One of my promotions assistants tells me on Friday that a woman, or a "fat pig" in his words, came up to the station table talking about me. She was drunk, he said, and she called me every name in the book of female expletives. The PA, whom I appreciate, said he defended me by saying "She's always been very nice to me and she doesn't have to be!" As soon as he started talking about her I knew exactly who he was referring to. Interesting, that is the fan base of that band. You see it when you go to their shows.

So then we groggily make it to Friday night and I had to go out again. I came home for about an hour and got a tiny nap that helped. My friend and housesitter was supposed to go with me, but he somehow disappeared. Don't know what happened to him. So I went and had a nice time. There weren't too many people there, sadly. I wish we did more with that restaurant... I enjoy them and their atmostphere.

So, finally, we made it to the weekend.
The weekend started with a big storm at 5:30. Little Willie is not a cuddly cat, he likes to be close by, but not too close. But when the lightning and thunder started on Saturday morning, he got up from his spot at our feet and walked up between me and Mark in the bed and curled up between us. So sweet. My cuddly yellow cat.

Mark had a super late night Friday with a big show at Gruene. Saturday was just about as busy as the rest of the week. Mark left at noon for a wedding in Brenham. I had an afternoon remote. Came home from it and collapsed into a three hour nap. Then I got up and got busy and watched about four hours of TV.

Sunday we were both completely off work. I don't know how people have energy to go out to a park and have a picnic or even see a movie. We just stayed home and piddled. I did cook us some lunch and later made cookies (which thrilled visitors that Mark had). I did get my desk avalanche sorted through a little bit.

Still more sorting to do this morning and I need to clean up some of the kitchen dishes. Maids come today and they'll take care of a lot of it. Thank goodness. But they don't need to fold three loads of laundry, so I'll get to that.

So... how boring has this entry been? I love reading the entries of others that are funny and interesting and have insight and energy and thought. But it's a record and it's writing. Now I'll get to housework.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland