2000-05-19 02:00:00

Lawn conquered

A big accomplishment today---yes, actually something I can cross off my long "to do while Mark is out of town" list--I mowed the lawn. My arms are limp tonight from the struggling. The mower handle kept breaking (it lost a bolt) and it was like trying to push a rock with a piece of spaghetti. I fertilized the back yard too so now I hope we do get a rain out of these threatening clouds.

I've got to get to packing for my trip to Jackson. I'm on the air in Jackson, MS, and I'm going to visit my station there and do a public appearance for them. Sounds like a lot of fun, lots of good musical acts performing. Only real downside is that I have to be at the airport Saturday morning at 5:30 am. I may as well stay up all night except that would really kill me. I'm sure they will treat me like royalty when I'm there so I'm looking forward to it. It's only overnight. I've still got lots of work to do at the studio to be through enough to go. I get so lazy and end up doing stuff over the weekend to catch. This weekend there will be no weekend to catch up in so it all has to be finished tomorrow.

I have blooms on my cherry tomato plants and I'm excited. It seems like I have to relearn gardening every year. I was studying my plants (all two of them) and remembered to pinch the suckers to strengthen the tomato plant. I ought to write some of these things down so I remember them every year.

I've been watching Martha Stewart's show lately and feeling very domestic. I idolize that woman. I watched her work in her garden planting and pruning and thinning plants all day in long jeans and a long denim shirt (looked very hot, but she is in Connecticut) and then she served her friends a lovely lunch on the porch. I sort of attempted the same thing today except it was shorts and a tank top and I mowed and I came in reeking and covered in dirt and leaves and I was in no mood to cook or converse so it was a good things no friends were here for lunch. I have a ways to go before I am Martha.

I haven't had a chance to just play on the internet in weeks. I haven't read any diaries or weblogs, haven't searched out any new topics or even read the news online. I'm not going to do it now either. I think I'm going to go to bed.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland