Thursday, May. 14, 2009 11:39 am

Slow start

Somedays I just do NOT want to get started. I've been at the computer an hour, answering emails and reading the news and Facebook, and I need to get down to business somewhere in this house. The kitchen desperately needs cleaning. I cooked last night and left some of it undone, hoping Mark would clean it when he took out the trash (which he did, as I asked), but it is still a mess. The bathrooms stink and need a serious scrubbing. I want to work on the playlists for Jose more than anything, but I need to finish the advances for next weeks shows, seriously, and call out to the Hyatt. Lordy, I hate phone calls worse than anything. I think it is the fear of the unknown. I'm afraid he'll tell me things were wrong last week with the other show. I need to invoice the Hyatt for the June 6 show coming up too. M&M needs some money coming in to pay these artists. I hope she can SOON. That scares me a lot that she is going to run off to London without paying artists that are playing for her.

I am completely out of my MT job now. They already are training someone new. That is a big relief really. In my mind I'm thinking, No, I can do it all, I need the money, but as overwhelmed as I have been lately, I will let them have it. If I need something to fill my time, I'll type for Dr. S. or do another playlist. There are other ways to make that money without the responsibility of the deadline. They were very very nice and I'm welcome back anytime, which is nice.

Funny, I just pictured in my mind M&M having this MT job. Never in a million years could she do it. Never. Not enough attention to detail, not a good enough listener, not enough MONEY to satisfy her. I can't imagine she'd get through the first week of training before she forgot to check for files and something got lost in the system. Maybe I'm just trying to feel superior. She is at least doing some booking this morning and sending me the results. That is good stuff that needs to be done.

Last night I cooked delicious Swiss steak, twice baked potatoes, and blackberry cobbler. All so good. That's why the house is such a mess. Maybe without the other job haunting me now I can clean it some? No, I have to go to Shady Grove this afternoon, so my evening is already full. At least I don't have to come home and type tonight.

Talked to Mark's cousin the other night and she finally "came out" to me. I'm so glad she finally had the courage to say it. I wish it could just be part of who she is and not something she needs to hide. I am putting her and my friend Jen together (not a hook-up!) so that Jen can give her some guidance on how to be gay in this world AND still be religious and/or spiritual. Of course, Jen is in Dallas where it is a lot easier.

I'm pondering going up to Dallas tomorrow night instead of waiting until Saturday. I like driving at night and that way I could go visit Uncle Dick more easily on Saturday, too. Just a thought at this point. I hate to be gone from my babies that long! But it is so hard for me to get up and out in the day, too. I guess we'll just see how I feel tomorrow and if I can get a bag packed. Mark will be gone so the cats would be alone for 24+ hours, but they'd be okay.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland