Thursday, May. 11, 2006 11:34 am

Big night for the kids

All that needs done and I still slept until 11 this morning. I needed it after a very late night last night. It was our kick off concert for the hospital benefit and it was a huge success. My friend MM had been super worried (and a little mad at us) that our show there would interview with the free show she makes money off of at the cafe. I told her that they would both be fine. That was an understatement. The cafe had a long line out the door even by 7:30 when I got there and they closed the gates at some point and didn't allow anyone else in. It was packed.

I took a half of a Xanax a little earlier in the afternoon and that sure helped me through the night. This size crowd and a lot of these same people were at Roger's show a few weeks ago and I was very anxious about it. Tonight I took it in stride and even enjoyed JB's show more than I have in years. Of course, he's sobered up since the last time I saw him, too. That really has improved everything about him.

So we had a great show there and then I headed over to MR at 1030. I had asked someone to save me a parking spot if they could, but there was no way to even get near the parking area. Cars were waiting along the highway, cars were driving through the big parking garage to no avail, people were parking blocks away and walking. I circled the big block and then came back, jumped the curb and parked in front of our station van. I was proud of myself for finding that spot (and not getting towed). The lines were long trying to get in and I know they had to shut those doors later in the night, too. So two capacity crowds and this one at $10 a head for the kids. I'm so glad!

I stayed backstage through the night because it was just too dang crowded. I had been asked to be there to emcee, but Miss A handled it fine. I got to love on my Jack for a bit. He is so special. He called me on the air yesterday and said "I love you" and then said "Is it okay if I say that?" I said it was perfectly fine for him to say that, but I'd rather him say that in the dark in private sometime too! He and his guitar player Chris are just the nicest people I've ever met and I was glad to see them for a bit. Not only them, but his guitar tech and his road manager. I gave his road manager a calendar I've had for 8 months for him... it is a 1948 calendar of the drugstore his grandparents and great-grandparents owned. I found it in an antique store and thought it would be cool for him to have. He agreed and thought I was very thoughtful. Also Jack's manager was there and I love him, too. In fact, there isn't one person on his team that bugs me in any way. I wish I could say that for them all.

I had a good visit with Randy, too, about his upcoming CD and tour plans. Things are quickly falling into place for him and if his record company will give him the support that Jack had, he could do very well, too. He doesn't have quite the charisma that Jack has that wins over individuals just on sight, but he's still charming and talented.

Kevin and Jason were the others on stage. It was Kevin's birthday, today, and they celebrated that, but they didn't mention that he is 40 now. Hard to imagine! Kevin really knows how to stir up a crowd into a sing-a-long. He's got a gift.

Walt was there and asked about my dad's health. I thought that was so nice. It really touched me. I visited a long time with Billy. I think he was attempting to get me drunk and take advanatage of me, but that certainly didn't happen. If I were single, I think he would be the kind of guy that I would be attracted to and go out with, but I think I still would have enough sense to know that he is not the highest quality individual you'd want to meet. I don't know how to define that because he is honest and sweet and helpful, but I just don't know that he'd be much help when you really needed support. Maybe just financially. I don't know. No need to ponder it because we can be great friends now.

Talked with lots more because the backstage area was crammed full. Fun to be the star. Miss A had left before the show was over and the guys came off the stage. They said they'd do an encore if the crowd wanted it, so I went out and talked to them and thanked them for the support of radiothon and got the guys back out on stage (with Jack nibbling on me). Fun. A successful night. And then I went to Whataburger for a totally unnecessary midnight snack and then I did some internet shopping which was also completely unnecessary and wouldn't have happened if I had been totally sober, obviously.

Dad did not go home from the hospital and my sister wrote a long email last night about sepsis and the bad things that might be going on. She is hopping mad at these doctors, but she talked to a caseworker yesterday and calmed down some. I am not making any plans, but if he is still in the hospital over the weekend, I'll need to go back up there.

My weight is sure climbing upward through all of this. I am not really a comfort eater in the biggest sense of the word, though I certainly seek comfort in food. I have had a lot more to eat since he's been sick. Some of it because I am worried and a lot because I'm on the road or at their house and eating takeout or going to restaurants. And while I think about cutting back, it always seems like its a bad day to start ("Well, I guess I picked the wrong day to give up glue sniffing.") Sure, you have to make that commitment and stick to it, but, like today, I already know I am going to be at the children's hospital, we're catered by every restaurant in the world for lunch and dinner and we'll have cookies and anything to snack on that we need. And, I will be under a high degree of pressure, my voice will be worrying me, my board op will be giving me fits, outside distractions will be driving me TOO distraction and I will eat.

Mark went to his grandmother's funeral yesterday. I haven't heard how it was. He called when he got there and I called him about 6 and they were all eating at a Sizzler or somewhere and talking about me, he said. He should be back on his way home soon today. It has been nice to have the house to myself, but I prefer him to be home.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland