Saturday, Mar. 05, 2005 2:15 pm

Aimless weekend

After I was so overwrought on Wednesday I went to see the speech pathologist. Amazing how 30 minutes with her equated to a Xanax. I seriously planned on taking a Xanax in the afternoon, but wanted to wait until after I saw her so she would see my throat as it usually is. We did our exercises and stretches and I really felt tension go away and it lasted throughout the afternoon. Good to know that breathing and stretches do have an effect.

It was a good thing she got me relaxed because I did a LOT of talking on Wednesday. It was Texas Independence Day so I was making a big deal of that on the radio and playing songs about Texas and talking to lots of folks on the phone. It was a fun, interactive show. But it sure wore my throat out.

The computer problems continue. But you probably could guess that, right? I did get the newest hard drive that they shipped which was already equipped with an OS and all the software a new computer gets. Yep, as I figured, it wouldn't boot and was unusable. Fortunately, the new one is being built (cross your fingers) and I'll have it this week. I did get a call back from a customer service person at Dell that had recieved the email I sent Michael Dell. He was very good at his job. He listened and he said he would follow up to make sure this new one was on its way. And he really won me over when I told him I thought I was getting some of this treatment because I'm on the radio. He asked when and where and when I told him he definitely was a listener. He likes my Austin trivia and talked about my cats, so he knows me. That helped boost my ego. We'll see if it delivers me a computer. Tomorrow makes four weeks without. I'm jonesing bad, man.

Mark is in Houston this weekend for two gigs. I sure missed him in the night. I woke up and couldn't get back to sleep for a couple of hours. Today I'm just piddling around the house and being totally unproductive. I really meant to get out and walk but now that raindrops are coming down I'm losing that desire.

I am going to see Jack on campus tonight. I love this performance. I thought MM that I had dinner with Monday would go with me. I was a little miffed. I emailed her details yesterday and got no response. I called her today and she says she can't go. I'm not miffed at her for not going, but for not responding if she knew she couldn't make it. I don't mind going alone too much. I've seen him alone more times than with someone. His manager will be there, too, and this is such a good place to see him I will just drink it all in. It will be quiet and smoke free.

My voice has been continually bad this whole week and I don't know why. Not as bad maybe as a couple of months ago, but again I feel like I'm gasping and the sound is grating even when I'm totally relaxed. I wanted to call the ENT at some point but it was always their lunch hour when I was thinking of it and I would forget before they returned. They have an answering service during the noon hour, but they won't take messages. Next week I'm going to the hypnotist to see if he can help with the tension and anxiety. One of my therapists had heard of him and says he is good. I am willing to try just about anything to get past this. Maybe he'll throw in a "I love carrots" suggestion while he's in there.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland