Saturday, Mar. 17, 2007 12:23 pm

And she's back

I was slow to update and then, when I finally got around to it, Diaryland was down. What a drag! Sure made me realize how much I appreciate this daily outlet.

I've been super busy this week and this morning, as I sip my coffee and listen to the birds through the open window, I wonder, again, how I can slow down this pace. Of course, this week is the insane week from HELL with SXSW events, regular events, rodeo events, NCAA basketball, Willie Nelson, spring break AND my freakin' birthday. It is just crazy. My sleep schedule has been wrecked, not by my needing to be up late or up early, but because Mark has been working all nights and I either can't make myself go to bed until it is four in the morning, or the kitties are off their schedule, too, and they are waking me up at eight in the morning. Finally today I slept long and hard and caught up a bit, I believe. Mark should be home soon to go to sleep for his day, so I need to get dressed and get out.

I have to go to the station first today because the stupid basketball game tomorrow changed air times and I have to adjust the schedule. Then I will go to Sixth street to see a performance and then on to the Spoke for a CD release and a couple others.

Last night was Willie and the gang at the Backyard. I am sure I have said this about six times in the seven years of this diary, but the Backyard is THE worst venue in this town. Yes, it is lovely and laid out cool and it should be a fabulous place to hear a show, but that's just it, you don't get to hear it. People seem to feel that this is THE place to pay $75 for a ticket and then sit there and yackyackyack about how much they love Willie and how happy they are to be there to see him and how much they LOVE to party. Augh. I had to get up and leave. It was nice that there were seats for this show, but not when that is sitting behind you. And the seats about killed me, too. Very claustrophbic, close, and uncomfortable. But the music? The music was pretty damn good. Especially Ray Price and the Wheel. Not so great when Willie/Merle/Ray sang together. That sounded unrehearsed.

My day didn't start out so well when M&M, my date for the show, called to say she couldn't make it. That really bummed me out and bummed me out further when I couldn't find anyone else to go with me. Really made me sad that I had no friends for this sort of thing. Then Mark came home from his all-night gig and he said he had talked to Miss Sunshine and she desperately wanted to go. So I called her and she had to check with her husband because she really wanted tickets for the both of them, but she ended up meeting me out there and that was fun. Glad we did it. She knows how to appreciate a good show like that.

I know I was just hormonal, but another thing that knocked me around yesterday was when I was trying to get out of the studio so that I could get my stuff done and get to this show. At six p.m. Ellie was supposed to take over and run the basketball game. She wasn't there! I called and got no answer. But that call did wake her up. She was napping and exhuasted. So she dashed and was up there quickly (probably ten minutes), but long enough that I had adrenaline and was not sure how this was all going to work. It worked fine, of course, but it was alarming.

I had a good birthday this week, but low key as I had asked that it be. I did get beautiful flowers from Mark and my flower lady friend. Gorgeous roses from Mark, which were a surprise since he is so deep in SXSW and I gave him a pass on my birthday this year. I went out on the night before my birthday and was out late and drank too much, so my birthday was just an easy day of sleeping later, making some stuffed peppers, working and enjoying some attention there, and then coming home and watching TV and talking to a few people on the phone.

I did have Pam Tillis on my show on my birthday, which was very cool. I liked her a lot. Easy to interview, very pretty and personable. I like her new CD, too. On the day before I had Jay Boy Adams and Trent Summar. They were fun, too, but I wished I could have more time with each of them because they were easy to talk to. But the boss said to keep them short short so I did.

I do start my new Texas show tomorrow. We'll see how that goes. I've got a lot of the music loaded up, but I haven't "done" the show yet. And with the game being later than expected, I may do it live so that I can make everything fit the way it should. And, live would be better, no doubt.

Oh, the saddest thing about my birthday... I got my birthday card and money from Mom yesterday. When I read the card and it was just signed "Mother" I got very weepy. Then I read her note and she said she didn't want me to be said, but it was sad for her to just sign her name. So I got to boo-hoo a little over Daddy being gone, which is probably why I wanted this birthday to go by easier anyway. I do miss him and my birthday marked three months.

I guess I'd better try to clean up and look decent. This is going to be a long day/afternoon. I hope to be home before too late tonight, though. But then again, I might just be having the time of my life and not want to come home. We'll see.

But thank goodness Diaryland is back. I need to make sure to do this EVERY DAY.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland