June 22, 2002 10:58 pm

Band members are going nuts in this town

Wow, I'm writing again, a mere two days after I wrote before. How can that be possible?

I worked most of the day. Did an "appearance" (as opposed to a "remote" where you are there broadcasting) at the new flea market. Came home and made lunch and fell asleep three times watching the UT baseball game's first 4 innings, then went to work at the station. It was exciting to be on the air as the baseball game ended. Had fun playing the fight song and Eyes of Texas.

Came home by the grocery store and made dinner when I got home. It's only 11 p.m. but I feel ready to crash. Lots of projects and things that I should do a little bit on, but my energy is gone.

I made some killer chocolate chip cookies Thursday night to send with the band when they went out of town yesterday. These were a big improvement over the cookies I made two weeks ago where I didn't have any Crisco. These were top o' the heap.

Oh, the mind-weighing issue of the day: Mark's previous band, the one that has gone "different directions," has fired the bass player that fell out of the tree. Talk about kicking a guy when he is down! He is just feeling like he might be able to play in small doses and was anxious to get back in the swing of things, and he gets laid low by the guy he's been playing for, for over 4 years! Something is seriously wrong with this picture. Don't know how this will resolve, but it just makes me want to lose all contact, it really does.

The other "big event" in my small world... I went out Monday and ran into a not-to-be-named-here musician. We discussed his music and the possibility of getting it on my radio station. I gave him my viewpoint and my advice and told him what he needed to do to play the game. The first step was a performance that our station was sponsoring on Wednesday. Yes, our station was the backer of him performing and being paid for playing. I went to see him and was enjoying the music, until he slammed my station because we don't play his music now. Well, that was not in my game plan to get him on our station. By slamming us and talking bad about the station, he's going to have to really have a bona fide hit or have a so-masterfully-produced-and-recorded-and-written-and-performed recording that we cannot deny it. What a jerk. There are plenty of local artists with good music. We don't have to play the ones that don't want to play nice.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland