Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005 10:37 am

Help is on the way!

What a difference a day makes! My fantasies from yesterday came true! I got to work yesterday and had email from the friend that has written a biography of singer Johnny Bush. He said that Johnny and his wife Lynda wanted to talk to me. There was email also from her. I emailed her back and sent my phone number. She was immediately on the phone with me and said Johnny wanted to talk to me. Legend Johnny Bush got on the phone with ME and in just a short conversation he said he could tell that I had spasmodic dysphonia like he also had and he wanted me to see his doctor. He explained why his doctor might be better than others and how much success he had had with the Botox treatment. He asked how soon I could come to San Antonio if he could get me an appointment. I said, Uh, immediately? ... not dreaming how seriously he would take me. Ten minutes later he called back and had an appointment for me today. I immediately thought of our music series and work and Double D being on my show today, but knew I would have to arrange it. I wasn't going to turn down this opportunity to get my voice back. I didn't want to delay it any more than I absolutely had to.

To make things even better, I called the doctor's office to confirm the appointment and found out that they do take my insurance. I had looked online and my insurance website didn't have this doctor so I thought I was out of luck. I guess you should always call and ask for sure.

I talked with Cotton and he started making the phone calls to get someone to cover the shift and I talked to the boss. He even hugged me because he could see how much relief there was and he was happy for me.

So today I am up and dressed and I will head to San Antonio soon. Johnny wants me to come to his house and he is going to take me personally to the doctor's office and "hold your hand" through the procedure. He may not look much like an angel, but he certainly is one. I may go out this afternoon and buy the entire Johnny Bush record collection.

This procedure is not instantaneous. I did ask Johnny what my voice will be like tonight and tomorrow, because I do have to work and I can't have it be any worse than it is right now. He said it would not be worse, but it takes a few days to take effect and be better.

I have so much hope and fear wrapped up in this. I don't know how devastated I will be if this doesn't work or they say I'm not a candidate for it. I won't think of that this morning.

The doctor's office just called to go over insurance. Yikes! Thank GOD and CC I have it. The Botox injection is over a $1000 and it is covered in a different way so I may be paying over half of that cost. Yikes! But, it is worth it. If I can talk naturally again next week, it is worth every penny. I've spent so much searching for the "cure" that this will be worth it.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland