Tuesday, May. 31, 2005 11:16 am

Tuesday Blues

I am bummed this morning... But I had a good cry and then got back after it and things look brighter now.

I had been fantasizing all weekend about this doctor that treats this spasmodic dysphonia with Botox. I just couldn't wait until this morning so I could set up an appointment. Of course, in my fantasies they would say, Oh, we just had a cancellation, can you come in right now? and I would be treated and have a full voice in time for the hospital stuff this week.... But I got up and called and that doctor hasn't been with them in a year. And they don't do the Botox there with anyone else. She recommended a guy in Houston. I boo-hooed and Mark was very sweet and supportive.

So, I got myself back together and called the doctor and Houston and got an appointment. It isn't until July 19, which seems like forever away, but it will fly by, I hope. I will see him early in the morning (way too early, I guess I'll have to go on over and spend a night) and have a long evaluation and then, if I'm a candidate, I have another appointment at 1:30 with the doctor who injects the Botox.

I wish Mark could go with me, but the way the schedule it, I don't think it will be possible. I wonder who I could recruit? It scares me a lot and I don't want to go alone, but I don't now who could do it in the middle of the week. I will worry about it closer to the time. Maybe Mark can make it happen.

Otherwise, the holiday weekends was not much of a holiday. I enjoyed Sunday. Mark slept away most of the day, which made it peaceful and slow around the house. We did go up to the restaurant I am going to advertise for and we had a wonderful meal. Coming home I told Mark I wanted some new dishware someday and I wanted his opinions so I could know what he liked. He said, let's go look right now! We went by a Target up there on that side of town and went ahead and bought dishes. They match the new wall color in the kitchen and are very pretty and functional. I will Freecyle the old stuff soon and get it out of the house and change the energy.

We came home through lots of storms Sunday night and watched The Incredibles. What a cute movie. We really liked it. We were laughing out loud through it all. Mark now has a crush on Elastigirl.

Yesterday I went to the funeral in San Antonio of my friend, the road manager that died last week. It was very sad. The place was packed way beyond capacity and they had speakers set up outside for others to hear. Lots and lots of flowers and lots of nice things were said. All the elite of Texas music were there to say goodbye. It was very sad.

After that I didn't stick around... I didn't know the family and it wasn't a social occasion so I didn't want to just be there alone. I went over to a restaurant nearby and met my old roomate Oh!D and her little girl that is named after me. That child is a talker! She is precious. She sang songs and talked Spanish for me and made up games and drew pictures. Oh!D and I hadn't seen each other in well over a year. Her grandmother just died, too, but I hadn't heard all the circumstances so I heard all about that. It was nice to catch up with her and see her happier... She had been working for a horrible boss and working impossible hours and she had even said she believed her job gave her cancer, but she kept working there! She finally found something else and quit and is much happier now, even if it means less money. I'm glad she finally took control and did that.

It is already Tuesday and I am SO far behind at work. I hate holidays for that. It was hard enough to get the work done to get through the long weekend (technically, I didn't... I had to go in for a while yesterday), but I didn't do enough to really be where I usually am on Tuesday. So I'm starting out behind and this is a busy busy week. It will be nice to see Double D tomorrow when he comes to the station and does the show tomorrow night, but I know it will start wearing me and my voice out and then we have the marathon Thursday and Friday to get through.

I'd better get after it. The longer I type, the further behind I am.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland