June 10, 2002 11:34 pm

Back inthe saddle

Another busy week has begun, but I had a good weekend to give me a leg up on this week.

Yesterday, Sunday, I was supposed to go to a distant cousin's 50th wedding anniversary party. It was one of those things that I knew I needed to go to represent my family and I knew I would enjoy a lot of things about it once I got there, but deep inside I didn't want to go. I hunted all week and couldn't find the invitation so I wasn't sure about the hours and had no idea where it was other than that it was 1.5 hours away in Burnet. I figured it was late afternoon Sunday. Finally, I talked to my mother yesterday and she had all the info. But the party was early and if I had jumped in the car that second I wouldn't have made it to the party, so, of course, my mind became made up at that point. Glad I got to stay home.

Saturday I drove out to Blanco to see my friend and chill out. Blanco is a wonderful place and the drive is calming in and of itself. The nicest part was that she took me to meet another friend that had the coolest house and garden. People oooh and aaah over our house and garden and maybe this is how they feel. I've gotten used to mine so I loved this woman's native plants and neat decorative items like a bottle tree with all cobalt blue bottles of different sizes all over it.

I had a remote finally on Friday afternoon and it went really well despite the wind and rain that blew in. Lots of people were there, some just because it was a 7-11 and people stop there on a Friday afternoon, but lots were there because they heard the remote and listen to me. That was fun. I have another scheduled soon and I am going to be on for the entire week the week of July 4, filling in for the midday guy. I think the good boss put the screws on the evil boss because I really think he would have had someone else fill in for him if he could have. Maybe he had no choice and I was the last alternative.

Today would have been my grandparent's 80th wedding anniversary. I sent out some pictures of them and backyard barbeques we had at their home in Eastland. Nothing but happy memories surround their house. The cousins have all been e-mailing memories back and forth today. That is really fun.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland