Sunday, Jul. 08, 2007 10:06 am

Beautiful Sunday Morning

I'm having a little aggravation this morning with this weekender that bugs me. I did the schedules for the last two weekends because Laser was sort of on vacation. Anyway, Friday night the weekender hadn't done his shift and I thought he was out for the weekend so we had a fill-in do and now he is pissed because he came in and his shift was done. I just forwarded it on to Laser and will let him deal with it. That isn't part of my job. At all. Because I'm no good at it. That's why.

I was up way too early this morning. Nathan was in batting at the plant and opening the curtains and wandering around the window sills and waking me before 8 a.m. So I got up and put him and Wilburt out on the patio and tried to go back to bed. Not 15 or 20 minutes later, I hear Mark up, going to the bathroom, and then he comes back... with a cat!! Errrr. There's no sleeping now if he brings that cat back to bed. So I get up and make the coffee and doze on the patio while it makes and now I will have to get an afternoon nap or drag all day. I love the cat, don't get me wrong, but I just wanted a little more sleep. I guess next time he is disturbing me I will just go to the guest room and close the door.

I did work on the quilt a lot last night and that makes me feel better about my weekend. I still have lots to do, but it wasn't so hard to do some quilting and watch some TV. Still quite a bit of quilting to go, but I mainly need to get the binding material and start in on that, too. My deadline is a month away (when younger nephew goes off to college).

Talked to my old college friend and co-worker in Amarillo last night. He caught me up on all the goings-on in radio up there. Too many characters I don't know and too many stations I don't know now. He said that no one leaves Amarillo radio... that I was the last to go. They really do seem to move from one station to another, over and over. It was nice to visit with him, but I don't feel like I really got to talk. He did all the talking. It was fun to hear his enthusiasm for radio and his job. I'm glad he's happy. He didn't say how happy the marriage is these days, but I guess it is okay. He usually calls me when it is rocky.

I did get the lawn mowed briefly last night. I just did a once over, knowing it needs edging and a lot more, but a little bit helps. And, since it was raining again this morning, I'm glad I did. It might not be available to mow today.

Yesterday I cleaned the kitchen all day, it seemed like. I cleaned it good and then had to clean it again when I cooked dinner. I did clean out the refrigerator and freezer and pantry and either hid or threw away or got ready to take to the food bank everything we can't eat on this diet. Mark and I have been on the diet two full weeks now. He says he has lost 7 pounds. This morning I was at 8. It was a little more than that yesterday, so lets just call it 9 in two weeks. Pretty damn good! Pretty damn good to actually be on a diet for two weeks, too. Mark is really craving chicken fried steak and gravy and ice cream and other carby things, but I'm still doing pretty good without it. I am looking forward to my cousin's wedding at the end of July. Most of those folks saw me at Daddy's funeral and if I am 15 pounds less than that, that would be so cool! And then the big family reunion next month, somebody there might notice I'm looking good. Of course, even my mother and sister are going to be surprised to see the 10 pound weight loss. It is noticeable now, I think. Mark's weight loss is.

I get frustrated at myself when I don't do stuff with other people, but some other people also frustrate me in their unresponsiveness to my friendliness. I am going to quit trying with the female producer at work that I really like and think is so cool. I think she wants to be friends, but maybe just not outside-the-station friends. Once before I had taped a show she likes (because she doesn't have cable) and invited her over to see it and have dinner. She said, no, she had seen it after all and didn't need to see it. This weekend we had a long talk Friday night and she was looking forward to NASCAR on Saturday night, but doesn't have cable to watch it. I invited her over, tentatively. Yesterday I called her after Mark left for his gig and reissued the invitation. She called me back and was still on a bike ride with her dad and wasn't going to come. I will back off now.

An odd observation of my own paranoia and over-thinking things.... I am intimidated to invite my friend M&M or the cool musician on the hill over to my house because their houses are so cool and, in her case, she seems to have more money and nicer things, artwork, etc. Yet, this producer-girl is very very poor and I'm intimidated to have her over because I don't want to look like a wasteful consumer. I need to just relax and not worry about what people think! We've got a fabulous house that I'm sure producer-girl (PG) would admire and appreciate and aspire to like I aspire to what M&M has. And M&M has been here and loves our house. I know the cool musician on the hill would feel the same way. Our house is a great representation of who we are.

Today I will repot some plants and get outside a little for that. I will quilt some more tonight. I have some computer issues I want to address, too. I SHOULD go to the station and finish the painting, but I think I will let that slide another day.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland