Tuesday, Jul. 04, 2006 12:44 pm

Holiday Catch-up

I am so behind on writing here. And things have happened. Funny stories to tell. Amazing blessings have befallen me.

Friday, our promotions director called and said, "Do you want to emcee an event tomorrow evening in Georgetown where Sammy Keshaw is performing?" Duh, no. She knows I hate these sort of things. Emceeing, driving, killing a Saturday night, and Sammy Kershaw? I am no fan of his. Then she adds, "There's a thousand dollars in it for you." Shit yes! I'm there!

So I went to this fabulous country club/golf course/housing community for their big Fourth of July backyard celebration. It was really a nice affair and I met some really nice listeners. The girl that hired me had lived in Amarillo before and we went to the same school for a time. We knew lots of people in common. And it was a beautiful place to be for a few hours too with gorgeous landscaping and oak trees. So I ended up having a decent experience. I still don't have the money in HAND (the check's in the mail) but I think they are good for it. I could have waited a little longer for the check, but decided to go on home.

Mark's band was on the radio on my whole drive up to Georgetown that afternoon. It was a great live performance. I didn't call him during it because I didn't want to interrupt his listening. Then I called at the end to tell him how good it was and he had missed it! I felt so bad for him because it was very exciting to hear them on the radio for an hour! The jock was absolutely horrible, though. He reminded me of that old sketch on SNL with Tim Meadows where he did a public service show on Sunday morning where he had nothing to say and gave the time and the welcome and the little bit of info he had on the guest over and over and over!

I finally got my Sunday nap in that I missed the week before when we had a "guest drummer" at the house. I told Mark that that would NOT be repeated and he said this drummer friend was on the road so we were safe. I said that kid is going to be BANNED from Sunday visits at our house.

Sunday night I did some experimental cooking and made some olive oil/rosemary bread and it was pretty darn good. I need to try it again and not work the dough quite as much as this was a little tough, but it was fun to make, easy, and tastes wonderful.

Sunday night I kept having that holiday frame of mind like I could stay up late and sleep in the next morning, knowing full well that wasn't true. I had an even longer-than-usual workday on Monday. I was up early for a remote way up north. The salesman on that remote gets me more remotes than anyone, so I appreciate him for that, and I like him personally, but he seems to hate being at these remotes and always is finding ways to get out of them. He called me yesterday as I was heading there (already late) and said he couldn't make it because his roommate's dad had died. And, of course, he needed someone else to pick up the food for the remote. I was already late so I got there and then sent a kid after it and all was well, but he always seems to not be available. I guess it doesn't matter. I just like to bitch, you know.

The remote was fine. I came home before going to work because I didn't feel too well. Then I went on up to work and procrastinated the day away. I could have gotten my Virginia shows recorded while I was on the air, but I didn't and had to do them when I was off the air. Oh well. Less stress that way.

I did have a really good show yesterday, especially considering it was a holiday and there wasn't anything really "going on" station-wise. I had people call in and tell me about the communities they live in. I heard from people in over 60 different towns-- many I had never heard of before. They were the nicest people, too, and I really enjoyed every conversation. But that was a lot of talking and my voice got really tired before it was all over.

Last night I went to the east side and it was packed like it has never been packed before. I got there right at ten, just as the band started and the parking lot and street was already full and the place was full. If my friend Frenchy hadn't already gotten there and saved me a seat I would have been standing all night. It was hot hot hot! Literally hot. I left about midnight and saw that there were at least 25 people on that side of the building outside and then I drove around and saw at least 40 in front, so that was in addition to the 100+ that were inside. Just crazy crowded.

Today I am taking it slow until I have to go to the park and broadcast. It has been raining this morning, but it probably will clear out and be fine the rest of the day. I don't care either way. I don't think I'll stay tonight for the symphony and fireworks unless someone fun is there to watch it with. Last year I was pretty lonely. It was pretty, but fireworks alone just don't have the same snap.

This is funny, I think. Co-worker Cotten is such an inefficient workaholic and is always at the station. I bet he was up there twelve hours yesterday. But, that's not the point of the story. This morning when I finally dragged up at 11:30 the phone was flashing and I see that he is calling. I ignore it. When I retrieve the message, he has that disgusted, contemptuous sound to his voice. He is on the air and about to do a contest where we call out a winner's name and they have to call us back. We've been doing it a couple of weeks (but he doesn't have to do it) and our promo director puts the winners sheet with the name on it in our boxes in the studio. I knew she had put in the names/sheets in the studio on Friday for yesterday and today. So he calls and disgustedly says, "I am trying to get ahold of (.... promo director...) and can't get her. I need to call out a name and she didn't leave me a name. I have the winner's sheet, but I .... oh, the name is on it." He is so funny how he gets all bent out of shape and starts punching phone numbers and making calls before he has thought through the problem.

Today is my favorite aunt's birthday, so I will go write her an email and wish her a happy day (the card is already there). Then I'll get ready and head downtown, I guess. Happy Fourth of July 2006.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland