Sunday, Jul. 11, 2004 11:47 am

Working Weekend

Rereading my Tuesday entry, I must make a correction. Doug's dog didn't run into the road and get killed. She was scared by fireworks and ran and ran and her little heart gave out. Apparently her heart had been racing through the day and she hadn't been in the best of health recently, which is all very sad, but somehow better than being hit by a car.

My howling barking dog has got to go. I love Lucky, but he has gotten so much worse since Alex died and I know the neighbors are going to quit being so tolerant at some point. If they don't, my husband will. I have tried everything in the medicine cabinet to calm Lucky. The tranquilizers work, but I don't want to give them up to a dog. I've developed a soft little muzzle that works a little bit and he can still breathe and drink, but I feel cruel putting it on his schnozz. If I could get him cleaned up and he could behave in the house, that would be a solution, but I know he doesn't behave in the house and I don't want him in the house with the cats while we're gone. I need to find a farm. Maybe Kinky's rescue place can have a home for him.

Mark's off in New Mexico this weekend playing with John Arthur. He should be home tonight.

Wednesday's music at the cafe was the most boring (for me) ever. He had no rapport with the audience and tuned his guitar between every song without talking so there was lots of dead air through the show on the radio. Bad bad. I left as soon as I said goodnight at 10 pm and came home. Glad it was over. Next week should be good.

Friday night Perfect C came to town. I can't believe she lives just down the road again and I hadn't seen her since March. That's a shame because I really enjoy her company. She came in and we went to New Braunfels and saw a great line-up of Texas singer/songwriters with Jerry Jeff, Guy, Joe Ely, Butch Hancock, and Terry Allen. I had never seen Butch or Terry perform so that was a treat. The sound and circumstances were not the best, but the venue was cool and the idea of it all was just perfect. Saw lots of band members and other fans I know. Nice to be seen by them all, too.

And I got my Wienerschnitzel hotdogs both coming and going to the show. I sure wish I had a Der Dog closer to home, but I'll eat them in San Marcos when I can.

Perfect C spent the night and took me to my car at the dealership yesterday. I got it all cleaned up and checked up and I'm happy to be seen in it again. Of course, I had pulled all the crap out of it and it is still sitting in the house and needs to be sorted and reinstalled.

I need to get ready and go to a remote at the boat store. A strange Sunday appearance out there which will throw me off for the whole weekend. So much to do at home today, but I'm not doing it this morning, so quite likely I wouldn't do it if I stayed home so I may as well go make some money. I got a long overlooked bill from the city yesterday (when are they going to come into the 21st century and bill me by email?) and I owe them a ton. Fortunately, Thursday is a big payday for me and I can catch up on lots of overdue stuff. Hooray for big paydays. Let's hope they don't go away anytime soon.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland