Moon eclipse night 1/20/00 23:18:39

Moon eclipse

I'm sitting here in my husband's heaviest overcoat. Why couldn't the hot weather have lasted through the eclipse? I sat out watching it for 45 minutes. I was determined to stay until I could see a sliver of silver as it came out of the eclipse. I finally gave up and came inside. I'm glad I didn't stay. Turns out it would have been an hour before it got to that point. I've been and out watching the total eclipse. It's hard to see through the branches of my backyard oak, but awfully cool.

As the moon eclipsed it went from the man in the moon with a beard, to a baker in his white chef's hat, a sailor boy like on the box of Cracker Jack, to a rabbi in a yarmulke (that is probably misspelled) to a old-fashioned ball player with those short billed ball caps. When the eclipse was full the moon looked like a panda.

I wish someone would give me the full lesson I must have missed in fourth grade with the orange, the ping pong ball and the flashlight. I didn't understand how the phases of the moon worked until I was 30 and an old boyfriend patiently explained it to me as we sat on the Oregon coast watching an incredible full moon. I'm pretty sure I understand the positioning of the moon's eclipse but I still don't understand why it can still be visible at all when we're between it and the sun. Good think I just accept a lot of things on faith.

As the moon was beginning to eclipse I tried jumping up and down and waving my arms to see if I could make a shadow on the moon. No luck.

******

I had a full day of practicing my New Year's Resolution: Be brave. I called and got an eye doctor appointment (I know that doesn't sound like much but I sure can put it off forever if I let myself), another doctor appointment to have my sore toe looked at (and he'll probably say "take aspirin"), an appointment to have a maid come to the house and give me an estimate (I should make several appointments for comparison but I wasn't that brave today), got a pedicure, and, most brave of all, I went to the yoga class at the gym tonight. I really liked most of it and want to do it at least on the Saturdays. I don't know if I can make the weeknight classes or not.

Anyway, I was a very brave camper today and those things are all difficult for me to do----with no good reason. I just have a fear of the telephone, new situations, being unsure of myself, looking like an idiot, etc.

******

Mark is off to Dallas tonight and will return tomorrow. I miss his company but I know I wouldn't have accomplished all those things today if he had been home.

******

Bad news on the grandfather front. Poor ol' Papa (the 100-year-old grandfather). He broke his hip in November and they didn't discover it until January. They did surgery two weeks ago and he did quite well. This week the "ball" in his hip slipped out. Turns out it can slip out quite easily when he crosses his legs (which he does and, being 100, he can't be told not to do it--he'd forget). They sedated him and popped it in and out without a problem and could see why he had the trouble. So they did more surgery to take the ball out. Apparently he doesn't NEED it. He will still get well and can even walk without it. Why did they put it in there in the first place? The doctor said, "Oh, when it works it is amazing and you have all sorts of range." HELLO!!!! This man is 100 freakin' years old!!!! He's not going to be walking the track or dancin' at the Savoy. Jeez. I was quite disgusted at the doctor's cavalier attitude, but then, I'm not up there to hear it from him. Papa will stay in the hospital for a few more days and then back to the nursing home.

*****

I am going to read a few diaries, check a few websites that I usually don't get to look at because I'm being rushed by my husband's need to get on the computer to buy drums and nonsense... Then I'm going to go and make myself comfortable, maybe put on a movie that I bought this week and work on the Christmas cards. Monday I go to the shrink to see if he can fix that stupid procratinating, scattered, depressed little brain of mine. So, if I don't get the cards done tonight, at least maybe next week there will be a chemical inducement to finish them.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland