Sunday, Jan. 18, 2004 10:03 pm

Weekend Deluxe

This has truly been a great weekend. It makes me want to really win the lottery so I could stay home all of the time. So nice to not have commitments and not have to go anywhere.

I did get the pantry and cabinets cleaned out and organized. And I did walk with B! down at the lake and had a great visit. Also a great hamburger at Sandy's. Like a spring day! Didn't go out last night, despite cuties playing all around. Double D did call this morning, which was a nice surprise. He said they did have a great crowd in Granger and thanked me for that.

I also got a lot of the genealogy done that has been weighing on me. I have it packed in a box and ready to send to my successor. I feel great guilt that I haven't done enough and it is too disorganized and that they are criticizing me behind my back, etc., but I have to just send it and ignore that feeling and hope she can do a better job than I did. It is NOT easy to keep up with 700 addresses.

I loved the cold weather today. Perfect for watching the playoff games. I didn't care a lot, but I hoped the Colts would beat the Patriots. They didn't. I wanted Carolina to win and they did so I will root for them in the Superbowl in two weeks.

I cooked a bunch today. I made my favorite Ham Jambalaya Soup. It has ham, shrimp, rice, okra and is yummy. Had that and cornbread for lunch and then brownies later in the day.

I also finished the book I've been reading since the first of the year: Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance. It's a book I've owned since high school, but never read it through. I kind of skipped through it this time, honestly, because a lot of it was still over my head (or uninteresting at this time), but I got a lot out of it that I wouldn't have gotten back in the 70s. Now I will start on the new Ann Tyler novel, Amateur Marriage.

When I am in a stronger negotiating position, I will ask for two days off each weekend. Two days to catch up and slow down. What a wonderful thing.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland