January 14, 2002 12:52 am

Antone's and friends

Just in from a night at Antone's. Fun night with a whole table of MY friends. It is really nice to be surrounded by people you like, people that want to be with you, people that accepted your invitation. I felt very blessed to have these good friends. The band was hot and Bruce Willis' presence just added a little more magic.

It was a great day today. I would have been happy to clean off the desk and do household chores but Perfect C is in town for only ten days or so and the chance to spend another fun day with her was too enticing. She had to come to Austin to buy her next airline ticket so she came on over and we went and had fun.

After a quickie lunch at Taco Cabana we went to one of her friend's house (and my friend by default). This is one of the houses you drive by and wonder who can afford one of those houses. That would be the few houses like this in town that haven't been turned into lawyers offices. It is huge and it is old and it had even a BASEMENT view of downtown Austin. It is so high on a hill that its basement can see the skyline. It could see the capitol until a new building blocked the view this year.

I got the full tour and got to gawk at the 12 foot ceilings and gingerbread around the doors and windows and MANY fireplaces. Wooden floors and huge wooden staircase (one of two) and living rooms and sitting places everywhere you turned. The house had been a rooming house through the fifties and sixties and, amazingly enough, when these folks bought the house they also "bought" a tenant---a man that has lived in his little apartment on the second floor since 1964. Do you know ANYONE that has lived in the same place since 1964, much less a room in a boarding house?

Part of the basement is an apartment, too, that they are about to lease out. It is huge for an apartment in an old house and has new appliances and carpet and wonderful features---plus lots of light, despite being the "basement." It is 1100 square feet and rents for: $1100. Gag! Cool apartment but who could pay $1100 for an apartment? Let me see, do I want my three bedroom house with two bathrooms and a backyard for the dogs and a yard I can garden in and my own big oak trees PLUS the tax deduction, or do I want an apartment for MORE MONEY? Well, I'd really really love to experience the apartment and being downtown and all, but I guess I'll stick with the house.

It's another Sunday night with about 3 hours sleep. Right now I wish I could just dress and go to work and get it over with for the day but I have to wait until it is ready for me so I'll get some sleep in the meantime.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland