Saturday, Feb. 05, 2011 10:44 am

Superbowl Weekend

I got so very lucky yesterday and had a snow day. What a wonderful wonderful thing that I don't take for granted! A paid day to sleep late and not have to be getting ready for company or vacation or a holiday. I got the text at 7 a.m. after having already stayed up too late the night before waiting for snow. The first text only said closed until noon, because it was predicted to be above freezing, but by 9;45 a text came saying they would stay closed. The sun did come out and things did melt and it did get above freezing, but it all came about pretty late in the day.

I slept late and enjoyed that, typed and sent Mark off to the studio to do mixing for his new album. Then I did show prep and went up north on a nice clear highway and did my voicetracking for Monday and Tuesday to get started there with the new slogans and positioning statements. It went pretty fast and I was home before things froze again.

Today it is already 40 and the sun is bright. I will drive to Dallas this afternoon after a gathering to make Valentine's at a friend's house. I hope the traffic isn't super bad for the Superbowl. Surely people don't go up there for it, do they? It has been a disaster week for Jerry Jones and the Superbowl people. People were injured by ice sliding off the roof, parties have been canceled, planes can't get there. There may never be another Superbowl in Dallas/Arlington.

I did go to St. Blaise Day at St. Ignatius on Thursday. On the third day of our sub-freezing temps, I got out for the first time and realized that IF I lived in a place where this was the status quo and you just knew it was going to be freezing cold every damn day, I guess I would adjust to it. Though I wouldn't like it, that's for sure. But the service was lovely and the priests were very warm and inviting and I got my throat blessing and my other blessing within the lunch hour.

I also went out with Frenchy and M&M and ____ (she needs a name too) for a glass of wine and to create a "book club." I told them from the start I'm not a joiner and club person. Even thinking about a book club makes me anxious. Isn't that weird? I used to love stuff like this. But we are just going to read the latest Fannie Flagg book and then get together in a month for wine again and talk about it.

Our TV DVR is giving us fits again and we have a cable guy coming this afternoon to fix it/replace it again. This is getting ridiculous. I'm about ready to try some other provider for a while.

Seems like there hasn't been as much hype about the Superbowl this year. I don't know if it is because we've been so wrapped up in weather issues all week or if the turmoil in Egypt (that country, along with Tunisia, Yemen, and Sudan) are all suddenly rioting for their freedom and Egypt's people want their 30-year leader Hasni Mubarack out as president. It's wild how fast it has all come up.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland