Friday, Feb. 04, 2005 12:24 pm

Liquor Feels Lousy

I was updating daily for most of January, but it looks like I've gotten off to a slow start in February. I'm not feeling great and that's why. And I blame the liquor!

Wednesday I went to an unveiling party for a new guitar a couple doors down from my office. It was a nice party and I met Steve Earl, which was cool....especially since he was just standing there alone and no one talking to him, so I introduced myself. Ray Benson was there, too, and we talked about his upcoming appearance on my show. Met a man that has recorded some updated covers of Bob Wills' music and he was very interesting to talk to. Mark was with me so they really got into the nuts and bolts of the Playboys.

But they had an open bar and since I can drink now I had two heavy-handed whiskeys. Maybe not such a good idea. I got a nice buzz, not drunk by any means. By the time I got home my head was hurting miserable and I felt crappy. I took ib's and went to bed. In three hours I was wide awake again and had to get up and take more ib's. Finally went back to sleep a couple of hours later. Woke up late feeling lousy. Felt lousy all day. Feel even worse today, though today it feels more like a bad sore throat, stopped up sinuses, and a cold. But I blame it on the yeasts in the liquor. I'm wondering if maybe I need to make that decision to quit drinking completely. It didn't do enough good for me to outweigh all this bad... at least not this time. I'm sure I won't give it up today, but I'll be a lot more conscious of how I feel---good and bad--- when I drink the next time.

I did have lunch Wednesday with the good (old) boss. I miss him so much. It was really fun to talk music and office politics and get his input and advice. He's doing well and I'm proud of him.

Now the weekend is upon me. Tomorrow I have my first boat remote of the season... lots of commercials and remotes on the horizon from them and that is good news.

I talked to a salesperson yesterday at work. Our new system is hurting them all in income and in meeting their goals. It is a system that doesn't make sense. Here's a math-book style equivalent: A farmer has 10 bushels of corn to send to the market. He has five sons and he tells them that they must each sell three bushels of corn or they will be disinherited. Well, obviously, only three even stand a chance of achieving that goal. Two are screwed (I guess the math book wouldn't say that part). We are playing less commercials now and our inventory is already sold out, yet the several of the salespeople haven't met their goal. They have people willing to buy commercials, but there are no more commercials available to buy at any price. Sad for them. I'm complaining about my income going down, but it won't cost me my job, only income. For them, I'm afraid we are going to lose some good salespeople.

Tomorrow afternoon I'll drive up to Dallas and see the Superbowl with the family. I haven't seen them since Christmas, so this will be fun. I should round up Valentine's presents for the nephews, but that's difficult since I'm broke. I'll have to see what I can scrape together.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland