Thursday, Feb. 28, 2008 2:03 pm

Stuff is Getting Done

I am getting some things done and feel a sense of accomplishment right now. I was so mad at myself this week when I realized that I let the Discover bill remain unpaid in February. I am so used to having ebills and having the bank pay everything automatically that I didn't realize that this relatively new bill to me doesn't have ebills. So, by letting it slide, the interest rate went from 5.99 to 29.99. Crazy! Absolutely insane. I've stayed awake late into the night thinking about calling them or just planning how I could pay the balance off with other credit cards to SHOW THEM. I got up the courage today to call and ask if I get the old rate back if I payed the balance due immediately. After a review of my account, she agreed. Of course, I can only do that once, so I now have it set to recurring payment so that it doesn't rely on an ebill to set the payment process up. Whew. That is a relief to not have a crazy interest credit card haunting me. I've got enough debt without the interest to keep me awake at night, I don't need usury rates to worry me.

Then, as I was checking bills and making sure we don't overdraw in these tough times, it suddenly dawned on me that I hadn't paid the health insurance. I had a hassle with them last month when the bank's payment was really slow getting to them (since they mail a physical check) and they showed us as "uncovered" for a short while. They said that could be remedied by paying on their website with a check instead of depending on the mail. I decided to do that a few weeks ago, of course waiting until closer to the first of the month when it is due. Augh. That's NOW! After I had just figured how we could barely squeak by another week I realize we need this massive amount of money. Fortunately, we do have some savings and I robbed them. Probably my last chance to rob them since they are running out, but we have health insurance AND car insurance for another month/six months (that's why things were tight, the car insurance came due too).

And I got myself an appointment, well, I left the message anyway, for Botox in San Antonio. I want to try it again and see how much relief it gives me when I don't have to talk on the radio every day. I might be able to use Botox like other SD people do, every three or four months, and not really think about the struggle to talk nearly as often. On the other hand, the side effects may be too much again and I may decide it isn't worth it. But it is worth a try again while I have insurance.

Last night I scanned a bunch of Mom's pictures for her slide show, but there is still lots to be done and I'm not getting it done sitting here writing, that's for sure. I want to go through a couple more boxes and see what great Mom photos I have there, then get them all burned together on to one CD. I need to go buy the paper goods for my sister's parties, too. And a trip to the P.O. for Mark.

How am I going to do all this stuff if I go and get a job??? I did the interview yesterday and I'll know next week. I hope I get it, obviously. I need money. I need daily work. I need an identity somehow through my contribution to society.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland