Monday, Feb. 27, 2006 9:42 am

Good weekend

It was a good weekend. Saturday was a busy day with two remotes. I haven't done a remote in San Marcos in a long time and a lot of people came specifically to see me, which is always nice. The car dealership where I was at was the nicest (people-wise) dealership I've ever been at. Not one person there came and asked for prizes during the remote. Car guys are the worst for being grabby, but not these, and that makes me happy because I have like 11 more remotes there this year.

It was pouring rain Saturday morning, but stopped before the remote, but stayed cloudy and cool. It is interesting to meet people that I've talked to on the phone or emailed with. Just like people come to see me to put a face with the voice, it is interesting to see what people look like in person. And shocking! I met a woman that I've talked to before and I pictured her just as an averagle "Mom" type person. Met her and she was an odd little duck. A blue terrycloth headband around her thinning hair and an ability to talk my ear off. She was sweet enough to ask about Daddy's surgery and when I told her what it was she said that was "exactly like my brother's" and proceeded to tell me about his cancer in his lower back. That didn't sound "exactly" like Dad's to me.

Another woman that was there that was super-weird: She showed up in a big van with a handicapped placard. The van was so loaded down and crammed with crap that I thought she must be homeless. There was a big pile of stuff in the passenger seat and a cat sitting on top of it all. She carried the cat with her to our prize table. I offered to hold the cat while she was filling out an entry and I was rubbing on him and then I thought "oh god, what if this cat has ringworm?" Ick! He was a sweet kitten, though. She had stringy blond hair parted in the middle and blue streaks of cream eyeshadow melted into her creases. She said something about being in a moving process, but nothing in her van looked like it was in a real moving process, it just looked like piles of shit. There was stuff all across the dashboard, including like a lei stretched out for decoration. There was even a green growing plant in a small container sitting there. All on the dash! I can't stop my car without CDs flying to the floor from the passenger seat, I don't know how she manages to not be bonked by flying objects at every curve and stop.

The afternoon remote at the boat store was great fun. The weather was cloudy and chillier, but tolerable. My flower lady friend was out of town, but it was great to catch up with the rest of the family, especially their 20-year-old daughter that left for Washington in September before I finished last season.

Finished the remotes and I came home and napped for a good long time. I thought Mark was going to be home for the evening so I had decided not to go out or do anything. I don't know that I would have if I had known, but I was unhappy to be left hanging. He finally was home about 1130 from work.

Sunday turned out to be a very nice day. Mark had offered to take me to lunch and a movie, but it seemed like he was offering that to keep the peace or just to make me happy and not because he really wanted to. We checked for a movie and didn't find anything we really wanted to see so we ended up eating at Shady Grove and going to the bookstore and that made for a really nice Sunday afternoon. I would enjoy doing that more frequently. It was fun to be with Mark DOing something.

Came home and napped some more and then I went to work on the taxes. I don't have it all together, but I have enough answers from Mark that I can go to the accountant tomorrow and let him fill in the gaps, I hope.

I also reloaded software on the printer because it had decided to quit printing. I got the software for my camera loaded in and it is up and running now (still need a better editor to change picture size though).

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland