2000-02-12 Late Friday night 03:30:49

Athletics, attitudes, Attila the Hun (not really, I just liked the alliteration)

I don't know how I got to be so slow doing the work I do. I'm not perfectionist by any stretch of the imagination so I don't know why my workday lasts until the wee hours of the morning. I was really concentrating and on task tonight and didn't wander off surfing the web (much)and it still took 8 hours to do about 12 shifts. I think my trouble is my need to say something relevant rather than just say something. That sends me trying to find that little tidbit I know I heard or read about someone or something or this song, etc. Frustrating.

Mark is in Houston and his absence sometimes stymies me. I anticipate him leaving and think I will FINALLY be able to accomplish something and just do the things I want and need to do and then the whole plan craters and I stay up until 4:30 surfing stupid computer sites and weblogs.

Today I did manage to buy Valentines Day presents, at least. I had gone to Cadeau on the Drag Wednesday thinking I would surely find something interesting and unique for Valentines there. Sure, there were lots of cool things I wanted but none for the hubby. There was a neat old fashioned post card album. I've collected postcards for--gad--30 years now and it would be fun to have a way to display the coolest ones.

Today I stopped at a store on First that I see as I drive to work but haven't been brave enough to stop. My New Year's Resolution being "be brave" I stopped today and found all sorts of cool Mexican art. I scooped up a hammered tin lampshade with a five-pointed star punched into each side, a Day of the Dead drummer skeleton and two little magnets with drums on the them. Just a bunch of little things but at least it is a Valentine gift. There are two big boxes from the Pottery Barn in the living room that are my gifts. I'm not sure what they are but I didn't open them, even thought Mark wanted me to. I'll wait until we're home and it is Valentine's Day.

Talked to little Grandmother today and she seemed pretty perky. I think the new Pacemaker may have done her some good. I will drop in on her tomorrow on my way out of town.

Parents are still sick. Dad with pneumonia, Mom with the crud and both have been sick for way too long. I expect both will be back at the doctor on Monday for a new medicine. I will visit them tomorrow afternoon and that will perk them up.

My nephew Brandt had to face the choice that so many of us have to face at his age: Whether to sign up for P.E. or Athletics. He is not the athletic one of the two boys. He has played soccer since he was two and has played a few seasons of basketball and baseball but he just doesn't have the interest or passion for sports that his brother Conner has. In seventh grade Athletics he will have to be at school at 6:30 most mornings and have a couple of football games a week and the seventh grade team is expected to come to the eighth grade teams games and cheer for them too. Brandt loves nothing more than sleeping late in the morning (at least past 6!). The decision seemed clear-cut. Then his Dad came home and said, Of course he'll take athletics! Obviously, Dad is an athlete that still plays soccer and walleyball and tennis. The opinions Brandt was getting from this Aunt and Uncle was to go for the P.E. and play dodge ball for a year. Nope, he's gone with the athletics. I did the same in seventh grade. I had high ambitions of being a state champion in basketball. Not too far-fetched since our high school girls basketball team ALWAYS won state. I never made it that far. I hated athletics, hated the coaches, hated the drills, hated everything about it. I was maybe on the fourth string team when I broke my leg two days before the season began. Really bad part was that my leg healed up just in time to run track. Hated track too. We all live and learn. I'm just glad I'm not his mother that will have to get him up and going and wash the uniforms and cheer at the games.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland