2000-02-10 02:03:49

Pacemaker

Visited my poor little grandmother at the hospital this afternoon. She had her pacemaker replaced. She didn't have to spend the night at the hospital at all, although she thought she already had. When I saw her and asked how she was she said, "I didn't sleep a bit that first night here." She was a little baffled when we told her there had been no "night here." I hope the new pacemaker perks her up some. When she got this one seven years ago it made a big difference in her level of activity. Of course, she's seven years older and much weaker now.

I feel sorry for my poor aunt, Mamma's only daughter. She carries the burden of so much of Mamma's care (but my Dad had the responsibility for years and years so I'm not saying he should shoulder any more than he does) and she has to work full time and she's almost 70 years old. It is a lousy deal when you can be married to a man for 25 years and have a wonderful prosperous life and then lose that through divorce (and no fault of hers). She had a wonderful husband later, too, and would have had a nice retirement and later years but he died of a heart attack when they'd been married only three years and they were in their fifties (which seems so YOUNG now---seemed awfully old at the time).

Tomorrow is my aunt's birthday and I'm going to take her to lunch if she can get away from her job. She has three kids, two here in town but I don't think they are doing anything for her tomorrow. I'm sure they will celebrate her birthday on the weekend. They are good about that sort of thing.

Computer problems at work put everyone behind for the day but I am still relatively caught up. I would really like to get ahead enough to not have to work much on Valentine's Day but if I'm going to Dallas this weekend I won't be able to do any work over the weekend and I don't think I can get that far ahead in the next two days.

So many things on my To Do list that I haven't even put together. That's the first To Do: Make a To Do list. I've got to get a Valentine card and present for that sweet man I live with and get some other cards into the mail and clean out my car, and go to the gym, etc. etc. etc. etc.

Yada yada yada....I did do one productive thing for my creative nurturing today: I sent an e-mail to the Austin Writer's League to join it again. I used to belong but never participated because I lived in Dallas. Now I can join and hopefully meet some writers that are like me: Unpublished, lazy and wishful.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland