February 01, 2002 11:18 pm

The Day After

Told sweet Mark about the firing late last night after I had sorted it through and was relatively okay with it. He wasn't. It hit him hard and has him tremendously worried. He began fretting over Hawaii and how we are going to pay for what we'll have to pay for (even though the trip itself is a gift). I told him to postpone that worry for at least a couple of weeks. We can cross that bridge eventually but that is not the first worry at hand.

Today I went to lunch that had been previously planned with my acupuncturist and a new friend she had met and wanted me to meet. We ate at El Arroyo. Interesting that we had already made that plan. That was the first place I ate last May right after the announcement of the layoff. We had a nice lunch and the new friend bought lunch for the three of us. That was a nice relief on my financial situation and very generous of her.

Before we finished lunch, Perfect C arrived back in Austin and met us there. The others left but I stayed and caught up while she ate lunch. Cold and sleety while we were there. I didn't even take a coat. Austin isn't supposed to be this way!!

Came home and saw the band off to Houston. I didn't even know they were going to Houston. Late last night Mark said, "We'll leave tomorrow at 3." I said, For where? It wasn't on my calendar so I didn't know it was coming.

Tonight I cleaned the guest room because our old friend Gary is using the room for the night. He called to say he will be in late so I'm going to bed now.

Tomorrow I hope for warmer weather and sunshine. I would like to go for a walk to clear my head, even if it is just a walk around the block. I need to do that more often rather than thinking that a "walk" must involve going to the lake or a trail by car.

Tomorrow my sister, the nephews and their dog will arrive at some point. We plan to do nothing all weekend. The boys like to play computer games and play with the cat. The sister and I like to talk and talk and talk. It will be fun.

Oh, and the big boss called again today to check on me and see how I was. He knew I was pretty upset yesterday so he wanted to see if I was okay. Very very nice. I called him back and spoke a moment and he was very kind. I feel some resentment toward co-workers from this job and co-workers from the previous job that I know are aware of the firing because I haven't had a call or e-mail from any of them. When the last layoff happened I made phone calls and expressed sympathy and support. Maybe that is just me. I think this experience will force me to weed through some lesser friendships and not feel it necessary to continue them.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland